We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, unpretentious and friendly”
Review of Argyll Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyll Guest House
Ranked #9 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at 5 hotels in a week in Scotland and the Argyll was up at the top for value with the very best breakfast and the friendliest staff. It was also well placed, fairly comfortable and provided all the basics including abundant hot water and free wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 242 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

Easy to get to SECC from hotel, taxi fare less than £5.00. Pubs around the corner good.
Our room in guest house accross the road, basic but clean and reasonably quite from the traffic. Good choice of breakfast.

Will not hesitate to use again if going to SECC.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Only a 10 min walk to the city or the SECC (Ok, 10 min could be very long during heavy rain and strong wind). Just a 2 min walk to some cosy pubs at the next corner. Our room was in the guest house across the road. It was tidy and clean and very quiet (good windows). I have not heard anything from the traffic in the night. The staff was very kind and helpful. Whenever I´ll be back in Glasgow, I´ll stay at the Argyll Guest House.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tapas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Rooms were reasonable standard. Friendly, pleasant and helpfully staff! Location and price were good top! Would be more than happy to return!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napalmnailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I have stayed here many times now for different lengths of time,one being for two months while working nights! The staff are very accomodating and nothing is too much trouble.I feel it is fair to say that the rooms in the hotel are to a better standard than the guest house across the road so it is worth the little extra if a room is availible.I must mention the breakfast though,I have been in and out of hotels,guest houses and b+b's for nearly twenty years and the Argyll's is the best I've ever had !

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Very close to the SECC. Rooms are clean and presented well. When I first arrived the radiator was making a noise. I phoned the reception and within a couple of minutes someone was there to fix it. Great value for money and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wbell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here sept 24 2011. As it is close to Glasgow university and a pub there was noice all night. We stayed in room 6 on the sauchiehall side. We only got about 2 hours sleep as the drunk university students were talking outside our window until 3 am. When we left for the airport there were still groups of students staggering home. The room was okay but I found the double bed hard. The service for our continental breakfast at 6am was wonderful. The front desk was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank campervan_question
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
830 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#57 of 93 in Glasgow
984 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
594 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
216 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 36 in Glasgow
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Guest House

Address: 970 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $53 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular, small and family run in convenient location .5 mile west of the city centre offering room only or bed and breakfast at budget rates. By Kelvingrove Park it is within a short walk of Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries/ Museum, Kelvinhall International Sport Arena and Glasgow University. Enjoy both west end and city centre shopping, dining and nightlife. Ideal for business or tourist alike. Family Rooms Available. Free Street Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Argyll Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Argyll Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing