We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably OK in the summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manor Park Guest House
Ranked #7 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This guest house is certainly good value, but the rooms are rather depressing. We found it very chilly and the shower in the bathroom didn't work. It needs some double-glazing to keep out the drafts, and the heating didn't seem to come on for very long.

As other reviews say - the breakfast is good and the staff very pleasant. I wouldn't recommend a winter visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found the staff friendly. The heating comes on at 6am till 10am then again at 5pm till 11pm. If staying in your room during the day we can supply a heater in your room, but you did not mention you felt it cold in the room, all the showers are working, if you had asked we could have looked at why you thought it was not. This is a listed building so we cannot put in double glazing units, our decor is traditional to suit the building and usually admired. we also have lots of nice christmas decorations up during December. Currently we are working our way round the rooms refurbishing the windows as far as permitted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 199 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have a flat round the corner and have been putting guests up here for years. When the place changed hands it was with trepidation that I booked in two colleagues in November 2013. My fears were unfounded - this Japanese pair were as enthralled with the Scottish charm and authenticity of the place as previous guests. The new owners make you feel very welcome and go out of their way to help. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is cooked to perfection. This location is quiet and a little out of the way, about a 15 minute walk from Hyndland train station, but that is to its credit and not a criticism. Broomhill has its own attractions, including excellent restaurants such as Macmillans and Wee Lochan, so we felt no need to wander too far. Good for those looking for something a bit quieter and different from the generic blandness offered up by city centre establishments.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpdv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

thank you for your kind review. look forward to your next guests in Glasgow.
Best wishes Scott and Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The journey through Glasgow's complicated road network made the guest house difficult to locate( no satnav!) but we were amply rewarded with a warm welcome by the son of the owners who was also very knowledgeable about local eating places. We were a party of three adults and shared a family room on the first floor. It was clean & the beds were comfortable allowing us a good night's sleep following a 250 mile journey. The new owners were gradually upgrading the former merchant's house to modern standards. We felt that the en-suite was very dated & in need of an upgrade a.s.a.p.Following a minor problem with the room facilities, we were provided with an excellent Scottish breakfast, with a good choice for all. We would certainly use the guest house again, & recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, away from the expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivyleague544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is good to get feedback . We continue to slowly upgrade our rooms but still keeping the original features of the house which is a style we like. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
best wishes
Scott & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this bed and breakfast with my family. I was pleased of my parents's choice!

The couple who owns the place is so so nice, always here to answer your questions, to give you advice about the visit and the city.
The full Scottish breakfast was amazing and I've discovered the porridge there, loved it!!!

The rooms are really nice and the all house is decorated with a great Scottish touch!

Loved it and recommend it!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Alexia1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay with your family.
best wishes
Scott & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Tucked away at the top end of Dumbarton Road leaving the city, the hotel / B&B is ideally suited for Glasgow and with free parking. Easy walking distance to some of the Clyde attractions and good range of bars and resaurants. The hosts are attentive without being intrusive and always make you feel at home. Superb breakfast choice in the mornings with more than enough to suit every taste!

Room Tip: This is a converted Edwardian home so no lifts!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyHd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
best wishes
Scott & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and and our experience was good. We were up at the top of the house and while the room was comfortable and clean it could do with a bit of updating; but no major complaints really. Fiona is a great hostess and the location is ideal for the both the exhibition centre and city. Breakfast was plentiful and if advance warning is made, Fiona can cater for a coeliac diet (very important if you are not a fan of a hearty cooked breakfast).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotsPorridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, if we know in advance we try to accommodate any diet requests and we are pleased that you found this helpful.
best wishes
Scott & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Scott and Fiona made us feel very at home. Quaint rooms, nicely decorated. Rooms included tea and coffee tray, tv and plenty of room for getting clothes out of our suitcases. Great breakfast, full Scottish fare or simply porridge and toast. We felt like Scott and Fiona were concerned that we had plenty to do and gave wonderful ideas about things to see. The Manor Park is located in a great spot, off the main roads so you don't get much noise at night. Also within walking distance of lots of eateries and sites. Ask for a taxi and they will have it in record time. Need a city tour, no problem. How about a tour around Loch Lommond complete with distillery tour? No problem Scott and Fiona have great contacts. We highly recommend a stay here, it's like a little slice of the past. We loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could be of help planning your holiday.
best wishes
Scott & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Number 10 Hotel
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
801 reviews
The Parkville Hotel
#6 of 35 in Glasgow
111 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#1 of 35 in Glasgow
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow Guest House
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
616 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 35 in Glasgow
370 reviews
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 35 in Glasgow
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Park Guest House

Address: 28 Balshagray Drive | Broomhill, Glasgow G11 7DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $84 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor Park Guest House with resident hosts Scott & Fiona Grier provides a peaceful location in Glasgow’s fashionable west end, minutes away from Victoria Park. The elegant three star guest house offers guests the ultimate in personal service at affordable prices.Ideally situated for the SECC, the world famous Kelvingrove Art Galleries, the Universities, Scotstoun Leisure Centre and Glasgow Airport, the Manor Park Guest House is the perfect choice whether on holiday or on business. Easy access to Scotland’s motorway network and major sightseeing routes, and free on street parking outside the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manor Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Manor Park
Manor Park Glasgow
Manor Park Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing