We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor Park Guest House
Ranked #7 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed here over the Christmas break while there was no room with the family. The place was really comfortable and clean with everything needed. The owners/ operators were helpful and I felt I would have no problems asking or contacting them if I needed anything. The room was well set out with all the things needed. It was a bit of a sanctuary to come back to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Enjoyed a comfortable, relaxed and "made to feel very welcome" couple of days here recently. The room was spacious and well furnished with a comfortable bed. Everything was very clean on arrival and I liked the Isle of Skye soap provided! Breakfast in the morning was tasty and filling and the coffee was good and plentiful - always a key point for me!

The location is very good, with free on street parking right outside and close to bus routes to the city centre. Not sure how much the bus would be but a taxi to the centre was around £7 / £10 back after midnight (well after midnight in fact!). We didn't find the road noise obtrusive, although being autumn we didn't try sleeping with the windows open! And this is still in the city so it won't be totally silent but I would say it is a whole lot quieter than a city centre location.

There is also a handy group of local shops within a couple of minutes walk - just ask Fiona or Scott for directions. In fact, that could be the motto for this guesthouse - just ask! Despite having only been running the place for a few months, both Scott and Fiona couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming and gave the impression of having been doing it for years! There are a few minor improvements to be made (E.g hairdryer lead!) but I got the impression that they were 'on the case'!

All in all, a lovely place to stay if you want to explore Glasgow and I would definitely put it in my list of best places I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBfromLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope we will see you again. Many thanks Scott and Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Fiona and Scott, while new to the Manor Park, were totally comfortable in their role as hosts. They treated us like friends and were so helpful as we explored Glasgow. They recommended a wonderful restaurant. We felt like part of the family and enjoyed meeting their charming sons. The rooms were very nice and the breakfasts excellent. Enjoyed the other guests as well. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I needed to accompany a family member for an emergency admission to hospital. Back at home, my husband picked out Manor Park at random on the internet and booked a room for me. I had no idea when I would be free to check in but, when I phoned her, Fiona said I would be welcome whenever. It was lovely, after the stress of the hospital, to find such a pretty, quiet place. There is a main road nearby but the house is situated below the level of the road and the surrounding trees muffle the sound of traffic. Country mouse that I am, I have to have the window open and I slept well. After a perfectly cooked breakfast, Fiona helped me locate a phone charger, I'd forgot mine, and I went back to the hospital refreshed and reassured. I'm sure Manor Park would make a good base for a city break but, for me and my family, it is a comfort to know that Fiona and Scott will look after us if we should have another hospital emergency.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a great place for me on a short business trip to Glasgow. The owners are very charming and helpful and recommended a great place to eat just 'round the corner. To be honest, my room was basic and looking slightly dated but it was clean, very quiet and fine for the price. The five stars are for the staff, a great nights sleep and a lovely breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbybobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My first time at Manor Park, but my wife had stayed with them while Cathy and Angus were hosts.
My wife is from this area of Glasgow and visited family while using Manor Park. She stayed in various rooms. This time we had the upper floor. We enjoyed the skylights, using the breeze and sun as needed. It was completely quiet. You just can't say enough of the new hosts, Fiona and Scott. They were a pleasure to meet. Very professional, warm and helpful. They would organize cabs for us, direct us to place to eat, bookstores. It seems someone was available at all times, since the family is working to make this a successful B & B. A special treat was seeing Scott's pastels. We loved his paintings and did buy a print. The breakfasts were just fine. I always had the full Scottish breakfast plus juice, fruit, yogurt. Coffee was good too. For us the location was perfect. Close to Victoria Park, a brisk walk to the unique Broomhill area of cafe's and bookstores, 15 min walk to train stations. Since we were not tourists on this trip we mostly walked, enjoying the neighborhoods, hedges and trees especially the last block to Manor Park Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_J43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Friendly, Warm welcome on arrival ,Hotel is set in a quiet and beautiful leafy West End Location close to all attractions, with plenty of free parking. Great park took 10mins walk. Rooms were spacious, clean with house keeping daily, Breakfast was fresh and plentiful with great selection. Beds comfortable as we were out most of the day, we slept all night. Owners were very friendly which, we have not expierenced else where. Would recommend The Manor Park Hotel to all Family and Friends and will revisit when back in Glasgow, Thanks for a great holiday. See you soon.

Room Tip: The Room we had was front facing, with lovely period features, it was clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Parkville Hotel
#6 of 35 in Glasgow
111 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#1 of 35 in Glasgow
721 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 35 in Glasgow
334 reviews
Glasgow Guest House
#3 of 35 in Glasgow
599 reviews
City Centre
Charing Cross Guest House
Charing Cross Guest House
#20 of 35 in Glasgow
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Park Guest House

Address: 28 Balshagray Drive | Broomhill, Glasgow G11 7DD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $83 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor Park Guest House with resident hosts Scott & Fiona Grier provides a peaceful location in Glasgow’s fashionable west end, minutes away from Victoria Park. The elegant three star guest house offers guests the ultimate in personal service at affordable prices.Ideally situated for the SECC, the world famous Kelvingrove Art Galleries, the Universities, Scotstoun Leisure Centre and Glasgow Airport, the Manor Park Guest House is the perfect choice whether on holiday or on business. Easy access to Scotland’s motorway network and major sightseeing routes, and free on street parking outside the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manor Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Manor Park
Manor Park Glasgow
Manor Park Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing