We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sandyford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sandyford Hotel
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Friday 25th April and was very pleased with our stay. The double room was large and clean with tea and coffee in the room. No complaints about the hot water as it was boiling and the breakfast was very good with a large selection to choose from. The chef cooks your main course for you and it is nice and fresh, not sitting under a hot lamp. My only complaint is the noise from the traffic which went on for a long time as our room overlooked the main road. At £58 for the double room including breakfast it was not overpriced. Great location either to walk into the shops or take the bus which is just outside the hotel front door. Yes I would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougal1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    248
    106
    46
    37
See reviews for
74
192
81
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting Glasgow,room was large,clean and bright. Breakfast served in the morning was as good as I've had in expensive hotels,plenty choice and served to you by very friendly staff. Great location but the only drawbacks for me were no lifts,curtains that don't meet In the middle and being on sauchiehall street the noise of traffic kept me awake.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longframlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed here for one night with a friend and her children. Their family room was immaculate and well equipped so I expected my single room to be the same. Unfortunately it wasn't. There were signs that some form of what I think was damp having been treated on the wall and window surround but then badly painted over. The desk/dressing table had clearly had a lot of liquid spilled on it at some point and as a result the veneer was peeling away on top there was also what appeared to be a red spray paint mark on the inside leg when I pulled out the chair. I know this was only a forty pound room but their is no excuse for poorly maintained furniture. Also the room I stayed in was at the front left of the building near the bins of a neighboring bar who promptly woke me up at closing time when they threw out their empties. The windows appear to be single glazed.

On the plus side the breakfast was filling, tasty and served by very helpful, pleasant staff. On a weekday morning breakfast service stops at 8:30am which having spent a late evening with James Blunt was a bit of a shock to all of our systems.

The hotel is well located in the centre of Glasgow for shopping etc but it was a long walk to The City Hall despite us being told on booking that it was only a five minute walk it was more like fifteen. There is also no car park. You have to park in the bays on surrounding streets which have a very confusing pricing tariff. Had we not had advice from hotel staff we would have still been standing there with a calculator. This admittedly is Glasgow City Councils problem not the hotels.

Over all not bad for the price paid but as another review has already said it could be better.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a double or twin room if traveling alone. The larger rooms appear to be better mainta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handbagsandgladrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were more than happy with the hotel for what we payed.plenty of others have gone into more detail so i will just say that our room was big and clean and the breakfasts were huge with plenty of choice.staff were great and helpful.we would stay here again if we go back to glasgow.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank falldownalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I enjoy staying here, we usually do when we come to Glasgow. It's reasonably priced and the rooms are always impeccably clean. The reception and breakfast room staff are very pleasant. Not the hotel for you if you're not an early riser - even at weekends, breakfast is only served 'til 9 (worth getting up for, though - a decent selection of foods are available). I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location if attending concerts at the hydro or secc. Just next to Argyle street which has an amazing selection of restaurants and bars. The rooms are very basic and should this be a school report I would probably comment 'could try harder'. We paid £75 for bed and breakfast which was ok due to the location. Would we stay again?? Probably wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and paid £153: Couldn't grumble for that price! A clean & tidy hotel with helpful and friendly staff.
The breakfast is included and you can help yourself to cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, toast and croissant. Cooked breakfast is then made to order once you've finished your cereals etc. Plenty too choose from and you definitely won't be left hungry.
Great location: we walked to all of the places we wanted to visit, but if your not up to walking there's a bus stop nearby and you can be in town in about 15 mins.
I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Property: The Sandyford Hotel
Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandyford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing