We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room and tasteless breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sandyford Hotel
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed July 12, 2013

There was an entrance renovation when we came. A lot of dust was everywhere near the door and stairs, as it a part of wall under renovation was not covered by anything.

We read in the info about the hotel that there is a public parking nearby, however it is not possible to leave there a car for more than 3 hours (during the day). We checked it with the receptionist.
The room we got was dirty - we found some food a floor behind the nightstand, there was hole in our bed sheet and all bedclothes were turned inside out. There was no shower gel/shampoo in the bathroom (the dispenser was empty), however there was a one small soap in the bathroom so we could use it.

There are 2 different breakfast times - the one in the room shows 8:45, whilst the one in the hall shows 8:30. It makes a difference, especially when you are on vacation and want to eat as late as possible. It was very hot in the breakfast room and we had to wait a good while before someone came to our table and ask about our order. Scrambled eggs were watery and porridge didn't have a taste (I ate it in different hotels in UK during this summer and I know how it may taste).

Next to the hotel is a pub open until late at night which makes it impossible to sleep till midnight or 1am, not to speak of opening a window.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlukow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 608 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Sandyford Hotel on Monday 1st July. It was a business trip which was booked for me by a colleague at work.

Even though there were no major negatives or positives I probably wouldn't recommend to stay here for more than one night. Its not a hotel that is suitable for tourists/holidaymakers who would need a longer stay.

My room was nice, staff were nice, public areas were nice, breakfast was nice. All in all it was a nice stay but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

we stayed 1 night for a gig staff very helpful room clean and tidy more than adequate for what we needed. We had a triple room which wasn't huge but 3 single beds which were comfy enough only downside was the pillows very soft. Breakfast was really good wide choice and staff very helpful would use it again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinty040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just stayed for the one night. Staff were very helpful. The only negative comment- being picky- would be that the pillows were useless. Was down for a gig, decent pubs within 2 min walk. Rooms were tidy, felt shower cubicle was big enough, as I am over 6ft and not exactly skinny I would have preferred more traditional breakfast arrangements, meaning pot of tea instead of machines and toast rack etc. Overall, I would stay here again, you get what you pay for, and for £40 I felt it was good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sugna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a large group of people an check in was pretty smooth. Had to put our keys at reception every time we left the place. Also we were on the top floor and there was no elevators so it was quite difficult to carry all out luggage up to the top. The shower was very average as well being very hot or very cold. Other than that the place was very clean and we had nice staff. The wifi was excellent on all floors.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukehump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's close proximity to the SECC which is only a ten-minute walk away. If you are looking for a good-value hotel, convenient for exploring the wonderful city of Glasgow and all it has to offer, then look no further. There are plenty of shops/restaurants nearby but if you want to try Mother India (opposite the hotel) it's advisable to book - it's very popular as the food is AMAZING. Our hotel room was basic but very comfortable and I loved the fact that you can open the windows. There was a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities, but oddly, no hairdryer but if required, one can be obtained from reception. The shower/loo was small and arguably a little tired-looking but was spotlessly clean and more than fit for purpose. Breakfast was truly excellent, as much as you can eat, with a great choice, including haggis, a great way to start a hard-day's sightseeing. The staff here are brilliant, polite and smiling, nothing is too much trouble. The receptionist was so helpful; she answered all our questions and even provided us with tickets which gave a small discount for the hop-on-hop-off citybus. Although the hotel has no car park, there is plenty of on-street parking behind the building and you can get cheap daily parking permit from reception. All in all, this is an excellent, good-value hotel which I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The hotel has no lift, so if you have difficulty with stairs, ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northwoodlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have used this hotel a couple of times when attending a concert at the nearby SECC - only 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Both times the hotel has provided a good nights sleep, and a nice cooked breakfast before departing. Only real gripes are small shower cubicles and lack of lift. Plenty nearby restaurants and pubs if you want to eat locally. Good value, and easy parking - pay and display - near to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
224 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Devoncove Hotel
#87 of 93 in Glasgow
1,150 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $49 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandyford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing