We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandyford Hotel
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having stayed here on 2 previous occasions and really enjoying these stays I felt quite confident booking another room here. Unfortunately it wasnt as enjoyable as our previous stays. Nothing wrong with the room itself as it was a good size and very clean which is the most important thing. The shower pressure was very poor with hardly any water coming out at all. Pillows in our room were not great, very lumpy and soft which didnt make for a good sleep.

We did get a good rate for a triple room with breakfast included but the breakfast was a bit of a disaster. There were quite a few people waiting when we got down being told they would get a call back when there was a table ready. We got a table quite quickly but put this down to timing, The service itself was very good and I felt sorry for the waitress who was having to deal with irate people wanting a seat. The coffee machine wasnt working aside from the hot water button but this was not made clear. When our breakfast was served the eggs were burnt and the sausage was not of good quality, very watery. I hate leaving any meat but could not eat it all and overall found the breakfast very poor. Was glad it was included in the price of the room as did not have to be paid for seperately.

Just disappointed overall that it did not match my previous stays and am unsure as to whether i would stay here again,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 606 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed 3 nights staff were good but hotel,rooms etc is badly needing a paint,cracked tiles in toilets,shower mat was a black with dirt under-side, cracked sink,carpets needing replaced hole in towels,breakfast was good and location spot on

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hymie3987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We used this hotel for a night as it is very close to the SECC (Scottish Exhibition Centre) as we were going to a play there. Hotel is only a max of 15mins walk away. Hotel/Room was clean, staff friendly and best of all a full breakfast was included in the very reasonable price.
Shower pressure in the morning was a bit hit and miss but it was enough for a freshen up.
Would we use it again? Definitely Yes!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A handy hotel a bus ride (£1) from the main city centre shopping and 10 minutes walk from the SECC. Perfect for a concert or shopping trip with the girls. Rooms are of reasonable size and clean with en-suite and usual amenities. Breakfast is mostly self-serve, but you are served a decent cooked plateful of virtually whatever you want. Really can't complain at this price. We have stayed here a few times now and never been disappointed. Great choice of restaurants close at hand too.

Room Tip: If you are elderly or not too fit, you will have difficulty climbing the three sets of stairs to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaelicgirl_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went to Glasgow for the comedy festival, stayed at this hotel for it's location, This hotel is very centrally located, a good 10-15 minute walk takes to all the shopping you need in the city of Glasgow,all the clubs I wanted to go to were also a short walk away. good selection of pubs around serving a variety of food including bar 78 were I had my first ever haggis burger, and the Snaggle bit and Islay may pubs for music in the evening, the Sandyford is a good inexpensive hotel costing me £105 for a 3 night stay including breakfast. breakfast includes the normal serve yourself fruit and cereal then a cooked breakfast is served to you,a good start for the day. the room I stayed was a single room smallest but served the purpose needed for. the staff are friendly and helpful and will give you information on the best way to get about. The only downside is check out time, seems a bit early at 10.30am especially if you are looking to leave later or have a late flight. all in all a good enough hotel on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Sandyford Hotel was a last minute purchase as my boyfriend and I decided to visit Glasgow for the first time. Our room was on the very top floor and the room was very basic, sheets were dirty, bathroom was very tight to move around in, the blinds were broken and didn't shut properly so by five in the morning the daylight was shining through the window - very annoying!!! At weekends the breakfast is served between eight in the morning until half nine, not a great time when you are in Glasgow for the night life and don't particularly want to get up that early for breakfast!! Although breakfast was nice but decided to skip it the next day. I was surprised with the room I got as after reading a lot of comments on Trip Advisor I thought the Sandyford Hotel sounded perfect. My advise is to ask not to be situated at the very top floor of the hotel as the rooms there are not good !! I was disappointed with this hotel and I think the next time I visit Glasgow I will look for a different hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask not to be situated on the very top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Located a few minutes walk from the city centre, the Sandyford is a great place for the business traveller. Room was small but clean and well equipt.

The Breakfast was excellent , freshly cooked with a cold buffet as well.

Downside, no bar, but pubs all over so not a problem,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leekstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
223 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
588 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
335 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
847 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#87 of 93 in Glasgow
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $49 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandyford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing