We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sandyford Hotel
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bed bugs”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed here a week ago and was surprised how good it was for the money. I then rebooked a week later and was bitten by bed bugs on both my arms. Room 103 should be avoided.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    254
    112
    46
    39
See reviews for
77
198
88
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Sandyford Hotel was a Great hotel to stay in ,Staff were great ,Rooms were great ,Location is brilliant ,Breakfast was brilliant No complaints at all Would Recommend it!!!!!

Room Tip: Take any bedroom all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UHLTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayport
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Customer service is excellent at this hotel. We have stayed here a few times and never been disappointed. Despite it being an old building the rooms are well furnished and comfortable and the breakfast is second to none. Nice touch having coffee/tea available in lounge/reception even though there are facilities in bedrooms. Don't know of another hotel which has a large basket of fruit in reception for guests to use. Excellent.

Room Tip: If you are unable to cope with a lot of stairs ask for a room at reception level. Didn't need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is excellent budget accommodation. Strangely enough, we had previously paid more for accommodation in Glasgow which did not offer what this hotel did. Our twin room was small, and we struggled a little with all of our luggage to fit in, however the bathroom was excellent, shower and bath with really hot water. Best of all we were greeted by a very friendly male receptionist. There was free coffee, hot chocolate etc on the ground floor available and excellent wifi. Would definitely keep this one of my 'do again' list

Room Tip: just a 10 minute walk from great shopping areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our booking at this hotel was a last minute thing to accommodate a gig me and my boyfriend had in glasgow. Had seen photographs on the website and had high expectations. When we arrive, greeted by a cold, unfriendly manner at reception. If that wasn't bad enough, when I enter room, there is a room with 2 beds instead of a double, an old carpet (apparently brand new), a horrible bathroom (my one bedroom flat bathroom is nicer than that) cracks in the bathroom tiles, rips in the seats, creaky floors and generally no space (apparently we had the biggest room in the place. When i requested the next day to change rooms, i was told in a rude manner that i was too late can should have phoned in the morning. i complained about my experience when checking out (10am!) and was just told sorry but please pay now. to cut a long story short, all staff were rude, unhelpful and not even interested in their customers experiences. i wish i had read the reviews on this first as i only saw good ones. definately the worst hotel i've stayed in. avoid! the only good thing about this place was the tv. also breakfast finishes WAY too early (7.30am). terrible!

Room Tip: do not request a first floor room, we were told they had been done up and done up means "a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

ontario
Level Contributor
942 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I had a single room and when I compared it with a similarly priced one a friend had taken mine was a much better value. The hotel is a bit on the basic side (being a converted tenement building) but I found it to be clean and well serviced. The towels were well worn and the hallways had a well used feel about them. Breakfast was absolutely splendid, the choices were quite amazing.

Room Tip: I would advise trying to get a room facing out of the back of the building and possibly low down as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericon991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbert, Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

For this price, close to both the City Centre and the West End, It is good value. Reception was most welcoming and helpful. Room clean and perfectly adequate with tea and coffee making facilities. Neither my wife or I had any problem with the mattress as another reviewer noted. Honestly, what do you expect for this price. There are some excellent restaurants within a short walk of the hotel. We left before 5 in the morning but were still able to help ourselves to a continental breakfast. I will use it again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#66 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#91 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Property: The Sandyford Hotel
Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandyford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing