We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glaswegian warmth and a true taste of Scotland make this hotel a top choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lovely hotel with fabulous rooms. Here you will be greeted with true Glaswegian warmth and hospitality, beautiful food that presents a true taste of Scotland, and a cute hint of Celtic music and tartan interiors reminding you that the Piping Centre is next door. Lovely location, lovely building and humbling to find out that the hotel and restaurant help fund the Piping Centre and keep it going. Gorgeous. My Dad and me would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you enjoy bagpipe music plus a great atmosphere then this is the place to stay during "Piping Live". The Hotel/Restaurant staff are just great - Young, energetic, cheerful and utterly obliging.
This was our third year here for "Piping Live" and we hope to be back again next year

Room Tip: Room 3 has a very comfortable "King-size" bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TontL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is really a bar with (eight) rooms. It is linked to The National Piping Centre, so if you like history and /or the bagpipes then you might like to try this hotel. Certainly the £60.00 charge for Bed and Continental Breakfast was very appealing, particularly as we booked at the last moment and other similar establishments were doublet the cost . The room was very clean, and comfortable , just a little tartan in the décor. The only problem I encountered was that the floorboards squeak a little but it is an old building! The breakfast is served in the bar, A choice of several, cereals, juice, fresh fruit and toast and tea or coffee. All the staff we spoke to were very pleasant .Although we did not use it, the bar has a great choice of Whisky, and the menu is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CariW3401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked a double room for my wife & I's 10th wedding anniversary on the 27th of July for a bargain £60 plus breakfast.
Upon arrival @2pm we were informed that the Price i was quoted was wrong & charged another £20 which was awkward but I paid to avoid a scene (no a happy bunny)....we were then sent to Room 8 to start our experience off & what an experience it was as there was clearly some one else staying there with the Shoes & underwear lying on the bed & the suitcase on the floor:((
We went to complain & were told to sit in the bar whilst housekeeping pushed 2 beds 2gether in another room to accommodate us.. At about 2:50pm we were eventually allowed in to room 4 to unpack.
The room was nice & clean plus the bed was comfy but the brekky was way way below any standard of continental brekky I have ever witnessed in all my days....there was a surcharge of £7.95 for a cooked breakfast which was kicked to the kerb.
I would not stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank francobhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrystManager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your response about The Pipers’ Hotel. We feel that you have been a little inconsiderate criticising our business a Fawlty Towers.

In hotels, human error does happen and unfortunately you were checked into an occupied room. I am aware that the staff and also our head housekeeper had your room ready within 10 minutes whilst you waited and had coffee at our bar. This problem happens in hotels all over the world and we are very sorry for the fault and any waiting time for you and your wife.

Your late room rate was £80 for two people but had appeared as £60 as you had booked for single occupancy (thus acquiring another £20 charge). It clearly states in the online confirmation and your final receipt that the rate includes continental breakfast only. Our 8 bedroom hotel offers free breakfast to all guests consisting of selection of teas, freshly ground coffee, 3 types of cereal, fresh fruit, dried fruit, preserves and spreads and also a basket of toast. This selection is unlimited and full cooked options can also be purchased.

We are glad you found our rooms comfortable and clean and surprisingly we received comments from you to the staff on departure that you had a lovely stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The rooms are well-appointed, clean, and comfortable; it's not a luxury hotel, but it's still nice. There is a pub on the premises so you have easy access to food, which is convenient. The location was good as well: lots of nearby restaurants, and only a short walk to the two main subway stations. However, the Internet was flaky the whole time I was there; since I needed to keep in touch with my office, this was extremely inconvenient. Do not stay here if reliable Internet is important to you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apf_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent only one night here but the staff was friendly, the room clean and comfortable. We ordered hot breakfast in the morning and it was enjoyable. My boyfriend had the Admiral's breakfast (not quite sure the name) and loved it! We had nice weather and were able to enjoy drinks outside which was nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Delighted that we opted to have my 60th Birthday bash at the Pipers.
We had a drinks reception in the piping museum area, this was a good place to meet and greet our guests prior to the evening meal. Our party of 34 had exclusive use of the bar restaurant for the evening. Menu offered a choice of dishes, and the food was excellent, a big thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squarebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
836 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,245 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pipers' Tryst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Address: At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $119 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pipers' Tryst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Piping Centre is home of The Pipers' Tryst which houses 8 cosy bedrooms, and is classed by the Scottish tourist board as a 4 star 'Restaurant with Rooms'. All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, colour TV with radio channels, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served within The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant. A continental buffet breakfast is provided in all our rates. Cooked breakfasts are also available at an extra charge, The Pipe Major's breakfast will be sure to see you through the day. The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant is also available for lunch or dinner throughout the week. Having achieved eat quality Scotland standard and received very complimentary reviews in local press our tables are often in high demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pipers' Tryst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipers Tryst Glasgow
Pipers Tryst Hotel Glasgow
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing