We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel in the centre of Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I can't fault my one-night stay here: lovely staff, clean, comfortable room - allowed me a great night's sleep recovering from a stag do that weekend! It's well located in the centre of Glasgow. (I can also recommend the nearby Station Bar if visitors want to find a friendly but traditional place for a pint or two nearby).

Cooked breakfast costs extra here but is worth it, especially considering the overall value for money of the room rate: friends who have eaten in the hotel restaurant have always said good things about it and I can see why.

I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from the main road, so even though my room faced a busy street it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brother T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 452 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

My mum & I stayed here with an itison deal. We stayed for one night and the welcome could not have been warmer - we arrived at 11am and were told that the rooms weren't quite ready yet (not that we had expected them to be - we were only going to leave our luggage) but offered a tea or coffee. We both took a drink and before we even finished were advised that a room was now ready for us!!

Our room was clean and a decent size for a twin room - very quiet but only a 5 minute walk into city centre.

Breakfast was delicious and very fresh.

Would not hesitate to return or recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for one night and the welcome could not have been warmer. Our room was clean and had all of the facilities and toiletries required. (For one night you do not want to carry lots of shampoo etc). The web site referred to the Pipe Major's breakfast and we were not disappointed in any way. There was enough food to keep a pipe major going through a major championship and it was freshly prepared. We have already booked a return visit.

Mairead

Room Tip: A room at the front is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Only stayed for one night but the room was excellent and very clean and the bed huge, decorated in a modern, tastefull way and very comortable
Staff were very helpful and polite, and the breakfast was fine, i would definitely stay again on my business trips up to Glasgow or for a holiday with my family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife & I had visited the PIping centre before for wedding receptions but didn't realise that there was a hotel in the same building. We spent an overnight here recently. What a pleasant surprise! Like myself, the hotel is small but perfectly formed. Clean, modern rooms, very comfortable beds and spacious en-suite facilities. The generous "Piper's Breakfast" was perfectly cooked. The restaurant itself, small but given a feeling of spaciousness with the abundance of natural light, is an interesting modern design which actually sits very well with the rest of the building which is of a more traditional, solid-built design. The natural stone stairwells give you the impression that you're somewhere in the Highlands! The location is ideal with bars, restaurants, theatres & attractions within easy strolling distance. The icing on the cake is the friendly and helpful staff who really make you feel welcome. This is a gem!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnnieguitarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a 2 night stay over the weekend. The staff were really friendly and the rooms were clean and modern. The hotel is conveniently placed for the middle of town so once we were parked up there was no need to use the car until we were ready to depart. We had booked to dine there on arrival as we weren't going to arrive until mid evening and ended up booking for a second night as the food was excellent. Would stay again if we revisited the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dneezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Took as a last minute deal. Easy access to centre of city, ideally located for Theatre Royal and Pavilion and all major shopping. Interestingly apart of the National Piping Centre. Lovely old building, with a sense of the boutique Hotel about it. Comfortable, cosy friendly resteraunt/ bar, with nice vibe and very friendly helpful staff team. Well priced in all areas, I.e bar food and accommodation. Will certainly be returning to stay, perhaps when there is an event in the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrightphilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
886 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,330 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pipers' Tryst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Address: At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $136 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pipers' Tryst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Piping Centre is home of The Pipers' Tryst which houses 8 cosy bedrooms, and is classed by the Scottish tourist board as a 4 star 'Restaurant with Rooms'. All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, colour TV with radio channels, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served within The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant. A continental buffet breakfast is provided in all our rates. Cooked breakfasts are also available at an extra charge, The Pipe Major's breakfast will be sure to see you through the day. The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant is also available for lunch or dinner throughout the week. Having achieved eat quality Scotland standard and received very complimentary reviews in local press our tables are often in high demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pipers' Tryst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipers Tryst Glasgow
Pipers Tryst Hotel Glasgow
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing