We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Stayed here on a Sat night so quiet for a city centre location.Staff very friendly & welcoming. Full Scottish breakfast was excellent also a continental breakfast available if you are watching the calories. Great location for Theatres & shopping. Would highly recommend it to others. There is also a restaurant for lunch & evening meals.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsayhmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trystmanager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Thank you for taking time to post your comments about The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel. We are delighted that you had a good stay and enjoyed our facilities. Although we are very central, we are on a quiet cobbled street ‘McPhater St’ which remains very quiet at night time especially after 12am once the local pubs close.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the Pipe Major’s breakfast (full Scottish breakfast) – this offering, as you can imagine has become famous throughout the piping world!

We hope to welcome you again in the future and thank you for your kind comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 441 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have just spent our second time in this little hotel. The eight rooms have all the amenities one could wish and the location is ideal for exploring Glasgow and beyond. One can walk to both the Queen Street and Central train stations, the main bus station, concert venues, and shopping. There is parking, but you can get around fine without a car. A nice continental breakfast is included in the room rate, with options for an extra-charge sumptuous cooked breakfast. The restaurant serves fine Scottish food, with other specialty options, for both lunch and dinner. (Make reservations for dinner as the restaurant is popular with locals.) Ask for a room on the front for a good view of bustling streets. If you are interested in bagpipes, there is an excellent museum on the history of this native instrument in the attached Piping Centre.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are bright and offer a great view of bustling Glasgow streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trystmanager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Thank you for your repeat custom at The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel. We are very pleased you had another comfortable stay with us when visiting Glasgow. It’s great to hear that you enjoy our fine city!

The hotel is such a central location for Buchanan St bus station and both railway stations are within walking distance; it is always easy for tourists to get around the city. Not to mention the city’s ‘clockwork orange’ subway system – Cowcaddens stop is right on the doorstep!

Thank you for recommending reservations for The Pipers’ Tryst. This cosy small restaurant has become so popular especially on pre-theatre nights; we do suggest booking in advance.

We do hope that you will return to the city in the near future. Thank you once again for your positive review.

Haste ye back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed as my sisters wedding reception was in the piping centre on Saturday 22nd Oct! Got a discount as part of wedding party so brilliant value. 8 rooms, 2 mins from sauchihall street. comfortable, slightly noisey but you cant stay so close to town without some noise! Housekeeping could of been bit better in the room. We got early check in due to wedding which was great but this wasnt one day worth of dust or poor hoovering! Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast really good. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 1 is smallest room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trystmanager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Thank you for your commendation of The Pipers’ Tryst. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your sister’s wedding reception and hope that you were comfortable within the building.

We train our staff to make each and every guest feel welcome and I am glad that you enjoyed the hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We are were invited to be a guest at a close friend's wedding and this hotel exceeded our expectations. Centrally located in Glasgow within walking distance of all the major attractions, George Square, etc. this hotel is very well run with an attentive staff and well appointed spacious rooms. The wedding was fantastic and the Piping Centre is a fabulous place for a wedding which went off without a hitch all the guests had an amazing time which is a credit to the hotel and the Piping Centre overall what a unique venue for your special day! We also enjoyed the intimate restaurant in the hotel which had delicious authentic Scottish food and a healthy breakfast buffet in the mornings. If you are looking for an authentic Scottish experience in a great boutique hotel with great service in a central Glasgow location you will find it at the Pipers' Tryst Hotel! We will be back on our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason_mac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

one night stay. the room was clean and shower warm. food in restaurant was really good. this is a great location for the theatre district and very good value. would stay again. staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu_travers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This "hotel" is really an 8 room residence attached to the National (Bag) Piping Center. I stayed on a Sunday--no clerks, no other guests, dark corridor, front door locked, entrance only through a side door opening into an alley in an industrial part of town. Room was worn and the bathroom dirty. Rarely in Europe in hotel does one feel this unsafe and grimy. Stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trystmanager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for taking time to write in regards to your recent stay at The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel, Glasgow. Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

The Pipers’ Tryst is the hotel of The National Piping Centre, which is a registered charity in Scotland. We exist purely to promote and foster the Great Highland Bagpipe – one of Scotland’s most cherished traditions. All profits made within the hotel are re-invested in teaching and promoting our company.

The hotel is an 8-bedroom ‘restaurant with rooms’ connected to this little centre of excellence. We operate as an ‘exceptional value for money’ city centre hotel, whilst we do not offer the frills of other larger establishments, we remain popular to guests looking for a ‘home-from-home’ atmosphere – with a reputation for good service and excellent Scottish food.

The side door of the building allows our guests privacy to come and go as they please (24hrs) without having to come through the main building. We close at night, as having only 8-bedrooms does not give the need for a night porter. A lot of our guests like to explore Glasgow and we are within prime location for shopping, dining and the theatre.

I am sorry to say that you found our standards of housekeeping unacceptable; we pride ourselves on having high standards throughout the premises. The company has very little budget for upgrading bedrooms; however they can still be clean and fresh.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope that you enjoyed your trip to Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband, father and I stayed here as my father is a keen piper and I wanted him to be close to the Piping Centre as he is not very mobile. This was the perfect place! There is a small number of rooms available above the cosy restaurant/cafe/bar that is located to the right of the centre. The rooms are small and designed for 2 people but we squeezed 3 people in. For 75 pounds/night including continental breakfast, it was not the best value in comparison to a b&b we had stayed in previously on our trip; however, in saying that, it was in a great location next to the Piping Centre and it was only a short walk to the main shopping area.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay near the centre of Glasgow and also wants to stay somewhere with a unique twist.

Some considerations:
*Main entry to the rooms is through the restaurant/cafe/bar and up the stairs (no lift). After hours, entry is to the right of the building.
*Reception is at the restaurant/cafe/barcounter.
*No reception staff onsite once the restaurant/cafe/bar is closed.
*Free wifi.
*Staff were very friendly and helpful.
*There are some great books available to read in the restaurant.
*The Piping Museum isn't open on Sundays.
*I couldn't find an online booking option and had to make the reservation by phone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jahonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
835 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,241 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pipers' Tryst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Address: At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $119 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pipers' Tryst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Piping Centre is home of The Pipers' Tryst which houses 8 cosy bedrooms, and is classed by the Scottish tourist board as a 4 star 'Restaurant with Rooms'. All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, colour TV with radio channels, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served within The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant. A continental buffet breakfast is provided in all our rates. Cooked breakfasts are also available at an extra charge, The Pipe Major's breakfast will be sure to see you through the day. The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant is also available for lunch or dinner throughout the week. Having achieved eat quality Scotland standard and received very complimentary reviews in local press our tables are often in high demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pipers' Tryst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipers Tryst Glasgow
Pipers Tryst Hotel Glasgow
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing