We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous - would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous - would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. Wasn't expecting too much given the logistics of weddings but - the room (we had a "junior suite") was lovely - large, spotless, huge bathroom. The food (again given the scale) was absolutley amazing - no "packet sauces" here - all clearly made on the premises - delightful.

Anyone going to Glasgow that wants to stay outside the city centre in a beautiful location and amazing character hotel need go no further. Prices were extremely reasonable

Room Tip: ask for junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    178
    34
    14
    13
See reviews for
233
338
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We held our wedding here last November and the whole experience at the Sherbrooke was brilliant. From the initial booking phase to attending to our every whim in the months leading up to the big day to the day itself - the staff simply could not do enough for us. Aswell as being an absolutely stunning building itself - set within a beautiful pocket of Glasgow the rooms, conservatory, dinning room, bars and function area are all
gorgeously decorated to the highest standard an everyone of our 180
guests all commented so on the day. Our wedding breakfast was out of this world too. As is always the case with his place even if you just stop by for a light lunch...
We cannot recommend his place
anymore - it's breathtaking with the most fabulous and attentive staff..
5*+

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Steven & I had our wedding reception at the Sherbrooke on Saturday 18th June. I had the pleasure of staying over the night before with my parents and bridesmaids. We had a delightful meal the night before the wedding and the reception itself was fantastic.
The hotel looked beautiful, the food & wine were delicious and we all had a magnificent time. I would like to thank the hotel; William, Sarah Jane and George in particular for making sure that our wedding went without a blip. The whole weekend was amazing. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyGuidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We had our wedding at the Sherbrooke Hotel at the end of May and could not have asked for better. The venue itself was stunning, all our guests commented on the quality of the food and the service on the day was outstanding. Despite dealing with weddings every weekend, they still made us feel like our day was as special to them as it was to us. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had an memorable time. We could not have asked for anything more from a venue and would highly recommend them to anyone else thinking of getting married.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We have been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel a few times now whilst we stay in Glasgow for a short break. The hotel is in a good residential area, and a ten minute train journey to City Central. Nearby within walking distance is Bellahouston Park - House for an Art Lover - Rennie McKintosh.

The breakfast can do a bit of a makeover too. Not much variations and the full breakfast was a bit dull with the usual. Toast came in cold so had to order some more fresh toast. A waste I thought.

The only thing about Sherbrooke was that the receptionist - she was absolutely rude in that when we arrived she didn't even look up to greet us. I checked in with my partner and all she said was this is your room number and gave us the timings of breakfast. Sherbrooke can definitely upgrade their receptionist with a pleasant manner and not greet guests with a sour face, The lady in question is a middle aged woman, very abrupt and not pleasant. However, having said that, we will go back to Sherbrooke as they are always very accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamvanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

We had a very relaxing and peaceful overnight stay at the Sherbrooke Castle not something you normally find in Glasgow city centre. The hotel is set in a very affluent and quiet area and is very majestic sitting in it's owns gardens.
We also chose to dine in and ate a very good meal and at reasonable prices too! We had a garden room which was adjacent to the hotel which made for a good nights sleep. Rooms were very spacious spotlessly clean and the bathrooms were large modern and also spotless! I would definitely recommend a stay at the property, good location and also for public transport too !

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room/suite very quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Chose Sherbrook Castle Hotel because we wanted to walk to visit the Burrell Collection in Pollak Park, about a mile away. The hotel is on a quiet residential street with large Victorian houses set in large garden plots.

Hotel was perfect- stayed for dinner and pleased we did- food beautifully cooked- the evening meal was a delight [+ the best cooked breakfast I've had in years]. Though we weren't long in the bar area, the bartender was thoughtful and helpful [the bar lounge decoration was a bit 'tired'- probably due to its popularity].

We booked very late so had no expectations about the room- we got Room 11: as we climbed the stair to the roofspace we were uneasy about what we'd find but what a room!
Bathroom in the turret with a full bath, great shower and great views on 3 sides. The king sized bed in the separate bedroom was off a small comfy lounge area.

Staff were all very helpful, attentive and friendly. The receptionists offered umbrellas in case it rained during our walk, helped us find the quickest route and went on the internet to find opening times for Charles Rennie MacKintosh's 'House for an Art Lover' also within walking distance.

All in all, one of the best hotels we've stayed in regardless of the star rating or price, yet only £90 for one night- we'd go again, which speaks volumes.

Room Tip: Stay for dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pontevecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Property: Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing