We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with good location and good value for what you get”
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average with good location and good value for what you get”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Overnight stay. Hotel is not that easy to find as it is situated above shops on Great Western Road. Street parking is free in the evenings and on weekends but no matter how near you can get parked you still have to lug your suitcase to reach the hotel. Parking is also a mix of 'resident permit holders' with fewer 'Pay and Display' spaces Our room was clean and comfortable and we all enjoyed a cooked breakfast with attentive service.

Room Tip: There is no lift at this hotel so if any travellers have mobility problems they should contact the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace10Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    125
    62
    25
    12
See reviews for
53
95
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Don't stay here if you are arriving by car because hotel parking is extremely limited (3 spaces) and narrow. You will have to try your luck with street parking and goes by meter.

The hotel is generally quite clean, although I found the bed old and rather saggy, giving me some backpains in the morning. Nonetheless, it is quite good value for money and location is quite central as well. Breakfast is of average fare and staff is generally helpful. Overall, I would consider it an average stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Positive: A good value of money. An excellent position, near to the Glasgow University's campus, subway, city tour bus station, botanic garden, and Bayres commercial street. Very helpful front-desk people (Thank you Iain for the taxi to the Airport)!
Negative: Of course, the stairs and the invariable breakfast.

Anyway, it's a good choice for a three stars hotel, mostly for business short trips.
Alfred Vasilescu

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with fru.pl

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had a problem with another hotel we had booked where they said they didn't have our reservation so we found a room at the Heritage. They were extremely helpful and even worked with another group so that we could stay the whole 4 nights instead of just the first night they had room for us. The room was very clean and the shower was great. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with tour information and any needs we had. Wifi works but we were on the top floor so had to use our internet in the lobby and the breakfast room - not a big deal. West end was a great place to stay. A lot to see withing walking distance - only a couple of blocks away from the Botanic Gardens and easy walk to Ashton Lane and great food and pubs for nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMSTEIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked a triple room for myself and two friends for a night out in Glasgow. I accidentally booked the room twice because my computer crashed, but the issue was resolved with minutes of me sending an email to the hotel. At £80 for the night we weren't expecting much, but we received a warm welcome and were impressed when we opened the door to our room - it was very spacious with the huge windows and high ceilings typical of Glasgow Georgian terraces. And most importantly, the beds were very comfortable. All in all, it was much more than we were expecting. We ended up leaving in a hurry the next morning, as one of my friends was ill, so we didn't get to fully appreciate the breakfast (I ran into the breakfast room on the way out and grabbed a couple of bananas and a yoghurt!). Judging from some of the other reviews, this seems to be one of the only negative points about the hotel, but since I didn't try it, I can't comment. However, for £80 a night, it wouldn't bother me too much if it wasn't perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The room was fine, but the noise from the street kept us up for some of the night. The shower was barely warm enough for a shower. Be aware that there is a hike up to your room with your bags as there is no elevator, so pack lightly or start weight training in order to carry your bags up. The breakfast was great with a lot of options including, cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, cheese, fresh buns, eggs, sausage, OJ, tea, coffee etc. There are only 3 parking places at the back of the hotel, if your don't get one you need to park on the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a fantastic small hotel. Situated in two classic Georgian terrage hotels. Both the bedrooms and public rooms have been well renovated, but they original decorative style. My bedroom was suprisingly large for a single room, well decorated, clean, cotton sheets on the bed, fluffy cotton towels in the bathroom, well lit (including a reading light over the bed), lots of power sockets. Good breakfast. It just doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#66 of 95 in Glasgow
59 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
260 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: 4-5 Alfred Terrace, Glasgow G12 8RF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the westend of glasgow between cecil and hillhead st, it has 27 rooms all ensuite, all prices include a full breakfast the hotel has limited parking for 3 cars only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing