We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, a great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall, a great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Okay, so this is definitely not a luxury hotel, but for the cost I was more than satisfied. I requested a room at the back of the hotel based on previous reviews, and I had no problems with street noise. It's basic, but comfortable, safe, and very convenient for the West End and the University of Glasgow. (I am a young single female and felt very safe. I like how they keep the front door locked and you have to be buzzed in by the front desk staff.) My rooms was a decent size (I stayed on the 2nd floor), clean, with a pretty comfortable bed. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. They helped me catch the right bus into city center, recommended restaurants, kept my luggage in storage for me the day I checked out, and were otherwise pleasant. I also was able to fill up on the breakfast enough to keep me going for much of the day. I skipped the cooked breakfast based on the reviews, but the cold options--cereal, fruit, toast, yogurt and cheese--were more than enough and served in a cheery, sunny room. Here are the cons: It's not very easy to find the place when you first arrive. I was glad to have a cabbie point the way to where I needed to go. The terrace that the hotel is on is a little grubby looking with some trash and debris; it could use a good cleaning. The shower in my room was quite small, and they had three air fresheners in my room that were so overpowering it almost made me sick. However, I brought them up to the front desk and that was the end of that problem. If you are looking for some place safe and convenient to explore the West End, this place is great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    124
    59
    24
    11
See reviews for
51
92
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Staff have been great to us (all except one - but the others made up for her) the rooms are fresh and pretty and very modern. Breakfast has a lot of choices and selection, actually one of the better free hotel breakfasts Ive had and the location is great for the west end and its pretty easy to get in to the city too - the subway is about 5 minutes walk away. Theres wifi in the rooms and tea and coffee...the only thing missing is an elevator...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We unfortunately checked in rather late and had to check out early as well, but what we saw of the place was quite lovely (front desk, breakfast facilities, ensuite, room, and lovely architecture & decor) and we're planning on coming back here next time we hit Glasgow. It's good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafillette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

i was surprised when i arrived at the hotel that it was short on parking spaces , the man on reception took my car keys parked my car near by and even paid for the parking whilst i got ready for a wedding i was attending, cant ask for better service than that, i felt that nothing was to much trouble for him, the rooms where spacious and looked like that the hotel had been revampted through out.. would recommend this hotel... thank you heritage for my stress free stay ...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Only stayed one night and spent only 20 minutes in the hotel awake but I would stay there again.
Good sized room for a single. Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location.
Some good bars locally. Quick into town.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank django2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Used to the B&B in the other place in Scotland, we didn't think an experience in a hotel, the last stop in our trip, could be so disappointing.
First of all: no lift. If you have to bring your luggage on fourth floor it's a nightmare.
The noise during the night was absurd: room doors slam incredibly noisy so that during the night, for several times, we scared that someone was trying to break the door!
Tea facilities are there but not as good as other b&b in Scotland.
Bathroom was acceptably clean. Breakfast was not very funny, very low quality.

A almost good choice only if you want to stay not so far to the city centre and want something deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lead_expression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights taking in the various sights of Glasgow. We booked on the internet and were attracted by the room rate together with the West end location. The hotel was easy to find however parking is restricted to 3/4 cars which is not much for a 27 room hotel.

The hotel comprises two large adjoining houses. The reception is manned 24/7 and has a seating area however the room feels very utilitarian. The rooms are accessed via a rather steep stair with two sharp bends which makes it rather difficult especially for anyone with walking difficulties. It would benefit from handrail on the wall. There is no lift.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in a spacious room. The breakfast choice was comprehensive and was good with the exception of "Turkey rashers" served up instead of bacon. The staff were helpful and friendly

There is no bar or other facilities however the excellent west end location more than compensated for this with a plethora of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel is also near the Glasgow underground for easy access to the city centre.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balearicbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: 4-5 Alfred Terrace, Glasgow G12 8RF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the westend of glasgow between cecil and hillhead st, it has 27 rooms all ensuite, all prices include a full breakfast the hotel has limited parking for 3 cars only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing