We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city centre hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here one night on a theatre visit to Glasgow and were delighted with our find!
Yes, the hotel and reception is on the sixth floor of a city centre office block entered through a shared foyer and lift from street level, the keypad entry is only necessary after 5pm and we did not feel the need to 'fumble' as the doorway is well lit and the keypad large!
We took the train to Glasgow and the hotel is only a 1 minute walk around the corner, but I can see how the double yellow line, lack of parking near the hotel can be a major problem, as it is with most city centre accommodation, but I understand the hotel has an arrangement with a nearby multi-storey, which may soften the blow a bit.
Our double room was spotless, stylish and very well appointed with Sky TV, electric fan and complimentary water, tea and coffee and cupcake, very welcome!
We found the room a tad on the small side and there was no wardrobe only hangers on hooks, but understand that there are bigger rooms available and as we were only staying for one night it was more that adequate. If you are planning a longer stay request a larger room.
We cannot comment on the noise from the street as our room backed onto the spectacularly lit station roof but being on the sixth floor I cannot see it being a great problem.
There is a very comfortable resident's lounge with tea and coffee and wine available.
We ate out that night so cannot comment on the evening meal. The breakfast room was again spotless but as it was very busy that morning it felt a bit cramped but the self service food was freshly prepared in sight and was piping hot and delicious.
All the staff we met, the reception staff, chef and servers were courteous and friendly and could not do enough for us.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you plan a longer stay request one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Yes, as the reviews say, the hotel is on the 6th floor of an office building, but once we arrived via a quick elevator ride, we found ourselves in a different world. The beautiful contemporary design of the rooms and common areas put us at ease immediately.The room and bath were small, but brilliant design has made the most of every inch of space. We were on the street side, but it was quiet. Sean and the other staff members could not have been more friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and the always-available cupcakes were a nice touch . The location was perfect--most of the historic sites and good restaurants were within an easy walk. We arrived by train, so did not have to deal with parking. The staff called a cab for us when we needed one. If you wish to use the excellent hop-on-hop-off bus, the staff will give you a 1-pound-off coupon. We loved this place, partly because we had done our homework and knew what to expect. The cost is very reasonable considering the price of other hotels in this location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is beautifully designed - lovely wallpaper and elegant furniture, but we found it basically uncomfortable. The bed was huge but there was very little floorspace around it. No closet space - just a couple of hangers on a small open rail.

The most difficult aspect was unloading luggage from our car into the hotel. There is no street entrance reception for the hotel. The hotel shares a street entrance and lift with several businesses. The hotel is on the 7th Floor. The street has some metered parking, but we had to stop on yellow lines to unload - all very awkward and the hotel has no car parking of its own. The recommended car park is a few blocks away - not easy to find and even more difficult to get through the one-way system back to the hotel on the morning of departure. The hotel does arrange a discount at the car park but that was minor compensation for the inconvenience. I think the hotel probably works very well for train travelers without much luggage as the station is right next to the hotel.

We found staff slow to respond, not keen to help.

Room Tip: Some rooms are noisy. Ask for one overlooking station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed for one night and would agree with review comparing this to a good b and b. The rooms are smallish but the decor makes up for that as the furniture, lighting, shelving etc., are all to a high design standard. The breakfast (which was included in our room rate) was good, and on our visit was not hurried. The hotel is the sixth floor of an office block, very close to Central Station, but despite that we were not disturbed by train noise. Staying as a couple was good but I would not have been entirely happy staying there as a lone female visitor...mainly due to the Reception etc being on the 6th floor, which means guests have to enter (via a pin code) from street level and while this is okay for a couple of adults, fumbling with pin codes alone on an urban street would feel just a tad insecure for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room than the standard double size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Fantastic located hotel which actually has more of a b&b kind of feel to it. You get coffee and a cupcake at Arrival. Very comfy rooms with a very Nice decoration, brandnew and very stylish. Minor letdown is the breakfast, the service was a bit hurried, didnt like the coffee and the juice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

As other reviews have said, do not be put off by the front door of this hotel, when you get upstairs you find an immaculate hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Bedrooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, Sky TV in every room, very good shower (much needed after a very wet day in Glasgow!). Breakfast is delicious, self-service but very fresh and not sweaty food which has been sat out for hours like in most chain hotels. My room overlooked Glasgow Central Station but was very quiet, my colleague was at the front of the hotel and found it a bit noisy but not loud enough to keep them awake. On arrival we were asked if we wanted fresh coffee and milk for our rooms, I was swiftly delivered a thermos of skimmed milk - no UHT milk here - just brilliant!

I stayed for one night on business and will definitely book again when I'm next in Glasgow. I was so bowled over by how lovely this place was I found myself racking my brains to find anything which could be a fault...the only thing I could think of was there was no bath mat - a small point I know but I couldn't think of anything else, it is just such a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRae15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. Was impressed by staff and how nice everyone was. My room was on the small side but had all the comforts of home so made up for size. Shower in room very good. Didn't get milk sent to room for tea and coffee and there are no phones on room to phone reception to ask. Ended up buying milk for me and sisters to share. Breakfast was excellent. Overall I would def stay here again but would book a double room as not that much more but a lot more room.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
970 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,180 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $92 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing