We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean hotel, centrally located, and comfy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel, centrally located, and comfy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Grasshopper for 3 non consecutive days. (We stayed one night, then ventured to Islay for a few days, then two more nights). I didn’t garner from my research that the hotel is one floor on top of an office park, so it was a little difficult to find on the street. If you come into the Glasgow train station it is less than a two minute walk which was very convenient. The hotel was clean, physically and in design. It looks like a fancy ikea show floor, comfortable bed, extra pillows would have been nice. The room was very tight, but that seems to the trend through a lot of hotels in Europe. Breakfast was included which was great and it was very delicious and everyone that worked there was so nice and helpful! One thing, I did call ahead to tell them I was checking in late and they didn’t have my reservation that I booked through Travelocity. They were able to fit me in thank goodness, but that was nerve racking. That probably shouldn’t happen again though, since I alerted them to the problem and they were going to contact Travelocity. Overall great value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    289
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
133
498
87
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a lovely hotel! Clean, comfortable, quiet and centrally located. The self-service breakfast was delicious, so were the daily free treats (the cupcakes were especially yummy). But what makes this hotel really stand out is its friendly, warm and very helpful staff. Words simply do not suffice to describe how extraordinary this hotel is - I would highly recommend it to everyone planning on going to Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a find.
Upon arrival we were immediately greeted with friendly, helpful staff who brought fresh milk and cupcakes to our immaculate, spacious room.
The amenities were lovely, comfy beds, breakfast delicious.
The location was perfect, centrally located right next to Central Station.
On a whole, we didn't find Glasgow to be a spectacular city but this hotel made our stay so wonderful.
It had all the luxury and comfort of a lovely hotel, with the warmth and family feel of a B&B. I challenge you to find a better place to stay - in Glasgow or anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

What a great find - right next to Central station but with clean, modern, light rooms, friendly service and sharp prices. Arriving is a bit confusing - it is in the sixth floor of an office block - but once in the team could not be more welcoming. The rooms aren't huge but they make up for it in style and lightness. The facilities are small but well designed and clean. And breakfast - thankfully a self service affair - is great. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a modern city centre hotel in an excellent location near Central station and about a 5 minute walk from the Q park which is just £6 for 24 hours with the discount ticket from the hotel at check out.
We stopped for one night (Friday) and had a street facing room. All the staff were very friendly and helpful supplying us with a map and suggesting various places to go for food and a few drinks. It is in a great location for this with everything within easy walking distance. Our room was a good size with a lovely comfy bed, Sky TV, free WiFi and a large shower with free toiletries and lovely fluffy towels.
Breakfast next day was again excellent in the lovely modern kitchen area. Even though we ate out the food menu in the hotel looked really tasty and great value.
Our only problem was noise from the street during the night, though this would certainly not put us off returning. We would probably try and get a room overlooking the station instead .
Glasgow is a lovely friendly city with a good vibe. The only negative is the number of foreign beggars nearly every 10 metres on the streets.
We would definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it to others.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TriciaBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This place is perfect for Glasgow city breaks. Ideally located for walking round the city centre and with easy access to buses / trains to get further afield. The hotel is clean and nicely decorated and being on the sixth floor is well away from street noise.

Customer service was fantastic, everybody couldn't do enough to help you! Sky TV in your room and cupcakes / fresh coffee were all extras that set the Grasshoppers apart from other hotels.

Will not even think of staying anywhere else when returning to Glasgow!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dannxtdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

A great find just by Central station. Staff really helpful room was comfortable. Liked the help yourself breakfast in the Kitchen. Nice to have fresh milk and ground coffee to have in your room with freshly baked cup cakes. Only down side was finding the car park in the one way system however very good value city parking.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelaghL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing