We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a find.
Upon arrival we were immediately greeted with friendly, helpful staff who brought fresh milk and cupcakes to our immaculate, spacious room.
The amenities were lovely, comfy beds, breakfast delicious.
The location was perfect, centrally located right next to Central Station.
On a whole, we didn't find Glasgow to be a spectacular city but this hotel made our stay so wonderful.
It had all the luxury and comfort of a lovely hotel, with the warmth and family feel of a B&B. I challenge you to find a better place to stay - in Glasgow or anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

What a great find - right next to Central station but with clean, modern, light rooms, friendly service and sharp prices. Arriving is a bit confusing - it is in the sixth floor of an office block - but once in the team could not be more welcoming. The rooms aren't huge but they make up for it in style and lightness. The facilities are small but well designed and clean. And breakfast - thankfully a self service affair - is great. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a modern city centre hotel in an excellent location near Central station and about a 5 minute walk from the Q park which is just £6 for 24 hours with the discount ticket from the hotel at check out.
We stopped for one night (Friday) and had a street facing room. All the staff were very friendly and helpful supplying us with a map and suggesting various places to go for food and a few drinks. It is in a great location for this with everything within easy walking distance. Our room was a good size with a lovely comfy bed, Sky TV, free WiFi and a large shower with free toiletries and lovely fluffy towels.
Breakfast next day was again excellent in the lovely modern kitchen area. Even though we ate out the food menu in the hotel looked really tasty and great value.
Our only problem was noise from the street during the night, though this would certainly not put us off returning. We would probably try and get a room overlooking the station instead .
Glasgow is a lovely friendly city with a good vibe. The only negative is the number of foreign beggars nearly every 10 metres on the streets.
We would definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it to others.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TriciaBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This place is perfect for Glasgow city breaks. Ideally located for walking round the city centre and with easy access to buses / trains to get further afield. The hotel is clean and nicely decorated and being on the sixth floor is well away from street noise.

Customer service was fantastic, everybody couldn't do enough to help you! Sky TV in your room and cupcakes / fresh coffee were all extras that set the Grasshoppers apart from other hotels.

Will not even think of staying anywhere else when returning to Glasgow!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dannxtdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

A great find just by Central station. Staff really helpful room was comfortable. Liked the help yourself breakfast in the Kitchen. Nice to have fresh milk and ground coffee to have in your room with freshly baked cup cakes. Only down side was finding the car park in the one way system however very good value city parking.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank ShelaghL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with a different feel and great service.
My room was small but superbly comfortable and as I was tired after a long delayed rail journey from England I basically rolled off the train in to bed which was very welcome.
Will stay again when in the city. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. It is situated very close to central station, occupying the sixth floor of the building. It has a secure entry system from street level. It has a very contemporary feel to it, with very helpful staff. We had room 605, which had an excellent view of the train station's glass rooftops. There are a lot of personal touches here, the excellent coffee and homemade cupcakes that you get on arrival to the delicious breakfast. There were even more delicious cakes to help yourself to in the hallway. My husband was impressed with the sky TV in the room, the room itself was compact, cleaned to a high standard, with a comfy bed. The next time we visit Glasgow, Grasshoppers will be our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,347 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,240 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $101 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing