We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowser ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wowser ”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I wanted something different and that's what I found, once I discovered the entrance that is :-) A warm and friendly welcome on arrival into a swish contemporary space, all dove grey and restful looking with cupcakes and roses to greet you as you walk in the door. My bed was perfect, the view of central stations roof from my room, pretty cool too! I loved the communal sitting room idea and the small help yourself kitchen for breakfast. I am just disappointed I was there over the weekend and did not get to sample an evening meal.
I loved my stay, the spelt and honey bread at breakfast was yummy, the Arran Aromatics in the bathrooms, so much was so good, that to mention I felt the sausages let the side down at breaky, (they tasted a bit too budget) seems a bit petty, but there it is.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NZJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    296
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
506
88
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Grasshoppers hotel is a great place to stay and certainly deserves its high ranking. There isn't a grand lobby or a traditional hotel bar so if you're looking for this, stay elsewhere. The hotel consists of a single floor and the personal service makes every guest feel important. The staff gladly recommended several places to visit while we were in Glasgow. Breakfast is included and offers eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausage, potatoes, fruit and great bread which is provided each morning from a top Glasgow bakery. The hotel also serves dinner each night and, though we did not eat dinner there, the menu seemed pretty extensive. The rooms are kind of small and do not have a closet. However, they are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in January and had a great time. The rooms are beautiful, clean and modern and the staff really went out of their way to make us feel at home. Small touches really help to make an enjoyable stay with Sean (reception) bringing fresh coffee to our room on arrival and assisting us with booking day trips. A lovely fresh breakfast was provided and delicious free cupcakes were in the hallway and never seemed to run out! The hotel was in a great location allowing us to easily walk to the main streets and train station. Overall a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 230matilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed one night with our kids teens, two spacious double rooms and functional, the bed very comfortable and very clean, very friendly staff, very good breakfast we even restored before service time. The hotel is attached to the train station.
Eight In February 2014, travel to family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a very good hotel. It's is good location - very central and ideal for exploring the city.

Granted it has an unusual entrance - via in inauspicious door on Union street and then up a lift to the 6th floor. But once you arrive it's very pleasant. The free cup cakes were a nice touch.

The bedroom was cosy and I would've preferred a nice big bath to a nice big shower but that's just my personal preference. Free sky had and sky sports was very good.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent.

The only thing which stops it getting a full 5 stars was that it was a tad noisy in the morning. The hotel can't do anything about inconsiderate customers talking (not overly loud but at 6.30am it sounds loud) outside your door. It more the layout of the hotel all being on one floor which means this can happen so no blame to the hotel or the staff who were fantastic.

I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend it. If you're a light sleeper or wanting a lie in then maybe bring some earplugs - problem solved

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanandLoobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Clean, central, friendly and efficient - all we were looking for in our stay. Good sized room and good breakfast. Will definitely book here when next in Galsgow and can highly recommend for families with young kids as staff were great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank inverurieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Modern, tasteful, spotless, comfortable hotel in convenient location. Extremely pleasant, welcoming and helpful staff. High quality services, facilities and food. Lovely breakfast - good fresh range of high quality provision. Thoughtful personal touches and extras. We really appreciated the efforts made and the slight quirkiness of the contemporary styling of rooms and furnishings. Great to have free wifi, also.

Room Tip: Rooms on station side of hotel are surprisingly quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKandJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,249 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,034 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing