We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a really nice place with almost everything you could want. The only slight gripe I would have would be that the rooms are a bit small, but everything else really is as good as it could be. If you're doing a lot of shopping or have a lot of luggage the room size might be an nuisance, if you're travelling light there's nothing to worry about.

The location is fantastic, the breakfast excellent and the quality of the rooms is first class (in particular the showers!). Every staff member I spoke to made every effort to be as helpful as possible. I can't actually think of a way to suggest any improvements!

Next time I'm staying in Glasgow I'll definitely keep this place in mind.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JJJamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Beautiful place, the effort from the staff is amazing and the food is great. If your lucky enough to meet Barry (owner) he is a great host who provides great company while enjoying the beautiful wine on offer. Will be back soon

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishfiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Loved this hotel. Clean,welcoming and comfortable. Very convenient for city centre shopping with discount at nearby carpark. Breakfast was excellent. Bed very comfy, nice little touches also with home bakes tea and proper coffee. Excellent shower. Room not large but adequate and nicely decorated. Only minus very little storage for clothes. Even on a short break i like to unpack. I look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel is on a floor from a building next door to the train station, great fro train travellers.
They have a discount card on the closest parking lot, 2 blocks from the hotel.

There are elevators to the hotel floor, good for people carrying big luggage, however the room mught be small for big luggage as well.
The rooms are suits.

The breakfast was great and they have free cupcakes and cookies on the halls.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NVR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Will definitely be staying here again next time I'm in Glasgow. The room was clean, the bed was really comfortable, plus a very convenient location, literally a minutes walk from Glasgow central station. Good breakfast selection, not just croissants... but hot bacon & scrambled eggs too! They did not have a hair dryer in the room but the friendly staff at reception got one for us straight away. Oh, and I loved the complimentary cupcakes in mini cake stands in the rooms too, I thought that was a really nice touch!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misskikiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Summary: lovely rooms, staff and breakfast incredibly close to Central station.
I selected this hotel from Trip Advisor for our annual shopping trip to Glasgow. It is attached to Glasgow Central station , the whole hotel is on the 6th floor and our room overlooked the glazed roof which was very pretty at night and not the sort of grubby roof you might expect. The entrance to the hotel is the least impressive part through a coded door out of hours perhaps to keep vagrants out. The building is occupied by rail companies. The 6 th floor is very different, smart modern and clean. The only public room is small and used for breakfast.
The breakfast is superb, cereals, fruit, yogurt and a small selection of hot food. The scrambled egg was the best I have ever tasted, the bacon and sausage were very tasty. The staff are very committed and friendly.
Well done trip advisor because I would not have found it any other way.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hornbydavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review and for staying with us at Grasshoppers! We enjoyed your company when you were here and you seemed to have a successful shopping trip! I can mention that we hope be able to freshen up the downstairs lobby in the not too distant future. Lower ceiling, some nice lighting and photos of the hotel as you approach the lifts are in our plan. You mention The Kitchen as our only public area but I hope you had been shown our sitting room which overlooks the station roof where guests can relax. We look forward to your next visit!

Sean
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here on Friday night. From the moment we entered staff were really helpful and friendly. Love the fact that you get fresh coffee for your room and there are always cupcakes and biscuits around to help yourself to. The room was very comfy and the shower was amazing. All very clean. The breakfast (especially the scrambled eggs) was fantastic. Loved the location so handy for everywhere and a bonus that they have a deal with an overnight car park nearby. Cannot fault the grasshopper, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smathers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,391 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#20 of 93 in Glasgow
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $95 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing