We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Summary: lovely rooms, staff and breakfast incredibly close to Central station.
I selected this hotel from Trip Advisor for our annual shopping trip to Glasgow. It is attached to Glasgow Central station , the whole hotel is on the 6th floor and our room overlooked the glazed roof which was very pretty at night and not the sort of grubby roof you might expect. The entrance to the hotel is the least impressive part through a coded door out of hours perhaps to keep vagrants out. The building is occupied by rail companies. The 6 th floor is very different, smart modern and clean. The only public room is small and used for breakfast.
The breakfast is superb, cereals, fruit, yogurt and a small selection of hot food. The scrambled egg was the best I have ever tasted, the bacon and sausage were very tasty. The staff are very committed and friendly.
Well done trip advisor because I would not have found it any other way.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hornbydavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review and for staying with us at Grasshoppers! We enjoyed your company when you were here and you seemed to have a successful shopping trip! I can mention that we hope be able to freshen up the downstairs lobby in the not too distant future. Lower ceiling, some nice lighting and photos of the hotel as you approach the lifts are in our plan. You mention The Kitchen as our only public area but I hope you had been shown our sitting room which overlooks the station roof where guests can relax. We look forward to your next visit!

Sean
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here on Friday night. From the moment we entered staff were really helpful and friendly. Love the fact that you get fresh coffee for your room and there are always cupcakes and biscuits around to help yourself to. The room was very comfy and the shower was amazing. All very clean. The breakfast (especially the scrambled eggs) was fantastic. Loved the location so handy for everywhere and a bonus that they have a deal with an overnight car park nearby. Cannot fault the grasshopper, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smathers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Booked 6 rooms for my friends hen weekend. From the moment I phoned to book the room, to when we arrived, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Some of the rooms weren't ready for the 2pm check in, which wasn't ideal, but they allowed us to hang up our clothes in those rooms and they were cleaned while we were out at a class.

Beds were comfortable, showers were fantastic, and the little touches such as cupcakes and smarties were lovely. We were on the Union street side and weren't bothered by the noise. The room sizes do vary, and we were in a smaller twin, but it was still perfect for our needs. The hairdryer provided when we asked for it was incredible, wish I'd taken a note of the make so I could buy one! Breakfast was delicious, and the price was more than reasonable, far better than other hotels in the vicinity. Planning on going back for a girly shopping weekend.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly larger room, mention this when booking as the sizes do vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent two nights here and were seriously impressed by its ethos, comfort, decor and convenience. The tone is set by the plate of homemade cupcakes and biscuits even before you reach Reception. Our stay was a birthday treat, so we had booked a larger room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the glass roof of the station and imposing traditional tenement buildings beyond. We were pleased to find a room with simple but tasteful furnishings and colour scheme, complete with some really interesting prints on the walls (the whole hotel has a super collection), such a pleasant change from the usual bland fare. The shower was spacious and efficient and everything spotless. Tea and water are provided in the room, you can help yourself to herbal tea-bags, and fresh ground coffee and milk are available on request. The staff actually seem to care that you are enjoying your stay and are comfortable, reinforcing the 'you never left home' message. The first evening, we tramped across town to an expensive restaurant; the second, we had a delicious 'supper' in the 'Kitchen', made intimate by tea-lights and classical music, where we enjoyed excellent home-cooking with flair for less than half the price, and very reasonable wine. Breakfast was good, too, and service (as ever) efficient and friendly. We slept well on a comfortable bed, undisturbed by the 'thrum' of the station below. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was in Glasgow for a night and found this hotel on the internet........I have to stay from checking in until leaving I found the whole experience excellent! If you are looking for somewhere that cares out their customers then this is the place for you. It the small things that make the difference like freshly ground coffee in my room when I arrived and a homemade cupcake. The team at breakfast were a huge asset to this hotel, really friendly and attentive. Why risk another city centre hotel that treats you like a number or over charges you for basic accommodation....book the Grasshopper!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great location,friendly staff especially Sean,even arranged to pick up a wheelchair from the Red Cross across town.Spotless rooms and really comfy beds,breakfast superb with freshly baked bread you can even arrange a home cooked dinner from the staff Monday to Thursday.Hidden on the sixth floor of the Caledonian Chambers building overlooking Central station, for us the only place to stay when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnetts_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I absolutely adored this place. I travel a lot for both business and pleasure and it takes quite a lot now to really make an impression. Beautifully decorated and presented both inside and outside the rooms. A real treat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardlyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,347 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,243 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $101 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing