We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but lacking in a little special something!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great but lacking in a little special something!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Having read all the fab reviews I SO SO wanted to love this place!!
It does have a lovely style, it's very central, and the little touches (cupcakes/smarties etc) were a lovely touch. Helpful staff, tasty breakfast, nice toiletires to us and bed linen and mattress to die for!! However...really quirky location....on a noisy street on the 6th floor. Room not huge and bit spartan....epecially with the stripped floors and super high ceilings....maybe a rug, pot plant or a picture on the wall would help...?! Bathroom pod really great idea but tiny space. Felt like whoever had cleaned was in a hurry and had cut corners....scruffs and marks on the walls, paint a bit chipped, hair in the shower, super dirty remote control and dirt on the back of the bathroom door (it's slide one so it wouldn't be visible if the cleaners were in there with the door open!) No milk, hairdryer or coffee in the room. I wasn't offered these when I arrived but later asked at reception and got quite possibly the BEST haridryer ever to use!! :-)
I feel bit reluctant to write these comments as I think the concept of the hotel is fab and I don't want to sound super fussy, but for the price it seems important to mention. It defintely felt like a space for a one night stop in town rather than a holiday destination space to rest and relax...
I really hope I just got the hotel on a fair-weather day....I think it's on it's way to being fabulous but teeny way to go yet
P.s. if you're booking a room might be worth asking for a station side room....the street at the front was NOISY on the night I was there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squizzmoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your review which raises some good points. Firstly your introduction to your room should have included details that fresh ground coffee and fresh milk of your choice would be brought to your room along with cupcakes and goodies. There is an area in your room where the paintwork has been slightly scratched due to occassions when a Z bed is placed in the room. This will be repaired very soon as part of our maintenance programme. The hair in the shower and marks on the pod door surprises and disappoints me and I have brought this to the attention of our our housekeepers. We do have hairdryers at reception for guests to use. They are not in every room as we have a good number of quality hairdryers recommended to us by Toni and Guy. Details are in the guest info manual. We are working on plans to install acoustic glass on the rooms on the Union Street side of the hotel to minimise any noise issues but a city centre at the weekend can be a lively place. Thanks for your positive comments too!

Sean
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    296
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
506
88
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Came here for an overnight stay as part of a hen weekend. The hotel is spotlessly clean, modern and the rooms really well equipped. Lots of lovely touches e.g the cupcakes, the water and the lovely prints on the walls. The feather duvets and super comfy beds made for a very comfortable night.
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was really good. Fantastic value for money and a real hidden gem, bang in the middle of Glasgow. Would definitely stay again.

There was a bit of noise at the front of the hotel - but it was a Saturday night in the centre of town. If you want to avoid this ask for a room on the station side and you will avoid this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the station side to avoid noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazdaFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

View from bedroom was amazing, looking over the roof of Central Station and the south of Glasgow. Amazed that there was very little noise from the station. Spotless room with some lovely touches. I personally do not like the bathroom not being totally partitioned from the bedroom but otherwise it was an excellent comfortable stay. Breakfast also was excellent and all staff were welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the station side for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I have only recently returned from a 10 week holiday during which we stayed in around 30 accomodation types (B & B's, hotels, apartments) and we were particularly keen to write a review for The Grasshopper.which we found to be excellent for a short overnight or longer stay. Other reviews have commented on the extras which you get staying here - e.g. the complimentary little cakes & biscuits which were delicious and a welcoming touch. We would also like to endorse other positive review comments about the rooms which were modern, clean and comfortable. In particular, though, we would like to make special mention of the professionalism and friendliness of the staff - Sean, the manager, was extremely welcoming and accommodating with information and advice, going out of his way to make sure we were happy and had everything we needed. We were also so glad that we decided to eat in instead of going out for our 1 night stay. A complimentary glass of wine before dinner was a pleasant surprise and the meal and service were both excellent. Thanks to Margot at dinner and Joanne at breakfast. The whole dining experience has an overall communal and homely feel, but also allows for a quiet dinner if you wish. Sean and the staff are to be commended for an excellent job. We will always look back on our experience at The Grasshopper with a great deal of fondness and we cannot understand the small number of reviews which rated this place below 'very good'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Terry and Jennie, thanks for your lovely review which captures all aspects of what we strive to achieve here. Barrie, the owner, and I are very lucky and proud of the small team we have here and the recognition many guests send to them. I will pass on your kind comments to all and hope you will return to see us one day! Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumpton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

You can see the location on a map - a few doors from the train station that you probably arrive at. I've carried my suitcases greater distances within an airport terminal than I had to to get to the room at Grasshoppers Hotel.
What you can't see online is the calm feeling and the 'help yourself' attitude to their tea and cakes (baked daily on site). Or the friendly staff who were more than willing to help without ever being intrusive.
Best of all though are the views of the Glasgow skyline and Central Station's glass roof (the largest in Europe and currently sparkling clean in readiness for the Commonwealth games).

Room Tip: You either get a view of the station roof or the city skyline (including The Lighthouse building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perrin124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Me and three of my friends stayed one night at The Grasshopper whilst on a two day shopping trip to Glasgow. The hotel was amazing very convenient for shops and resturants The staff couldn't do enough for us One word to sum up the Grasshopper FANTASTIC

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is absolutely brilliant. I loved staying there. The hotel itself is very clean and stylish and I found the staff to be unbelievably friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, as are the views. It was a pleasure to stay at Grasshoppers and I am looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_by_the_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,249 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,034 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing