We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but standards of service are excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quirky but standards of service are excellent.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary recently. First time here chosen for its proximity to Central Station. All the staff we encountered were efficient and courteous. Room was a weird shape but very clean. As it is on the 6th floor arrangements for returning after a night out were carefully explained. Nice touches were being shown directly to our room, free cupcakes and a very quick table change at breakfast to allow us not too long a wait. The breakfast and kitchen areas are fairly small but the staff there are so efficient that you didn't really notice. Freshly cooked food made for a most enjoyable breakfast. We were woken on Saturday night by revellers but hey we had a good night out ourselves and it is a city centre. Due to its fair pricing we will make Grasshoppers our first choice for return visits to Glasgow.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the street and not the station which was an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starkauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    304
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
137
521
93
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What great hospitality!! 29 rooms of charm. Actually, it was the staff that made the place. They assisted with everything, even when I got sick with suggestions of places to find in Glasgow for integrative medicine. If you stay there, at least one night, eat in. So worth it!! you won't be sorry. Healthy organic food is hard to find in the UK and they nail it.

Enjoyed meeting various people at the communal tables. Everyone offers suggestions, many have been there before (they suggested reserve a room not on the street side....it can get loud at 2am with partiers), places to go, shopping, restaurants...you name it. Many people say noisy in the rooms, I didn't find that at all (except with the 2am partiers).

Looking for a boutique hotel, this is it! If I ever go back, I will stay here in a heartbeat. Thanks girls for a lovely time!!

Room Tip: Reserve a room not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michi8836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Location is good, city centre next to train station, 15 min to airport. A building with character, rooms are furnished tasteful and modern with high quality standards, the view at the glass roof is amazing. The breakfast is excellent (great bread, everything fresh and handmade). However, what makes it especially enjoyable to arrive and stay here is the very friendly and supportive staff (this time I had a lot of request due to bad planning on my part) and the little goodies (like fresh cupcakes and cookies, free water and tee) that are offered. I will definitely return during my next stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Haven't stayed in Glasgow for years but this short stop was well worth it. Surprised to find the hotel on the 6th floor high above The Central Railway Station, I expected to see Michael Portillo there but this is a really good place to stay. Great night sleep, nice fresh food, kind staff, I'll be back. Only down side was the distant car park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Welcoming, clean, comfortable and slightly quirky. Never anything less than enjoyable - making a work trip something to look forward to rather than endured. Always my first choice in Glasgow, especially recommended for the excellent breakfast and the dinner. The details are good as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Quintus_Slide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Really handy location for the train station. It is a little difficult to find as it is upstairs but staff were lovely and welcoming. A cup cake and chocolates were waiting in the room and fresh coffee was brought to me. Rooms are lovely and unusual , the only down point I found is that the rooms are noisy but this will be due to the age of the building i.e lack of double glazing and the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here on Tuesday 15th October. What a gem of a place. Very clean, modern rooms and extremely friendly, helpful staff. The location is very central, right at side of Central station, but we didn't have trouble sleeping- even though this was the night of Scotland's International football victory!! Some people have made mention of noise outside, but we couldn't believe how quiet it was for a city centre hotel- Sean did say that they are planning to install extra glazing in November. Excellent food , ground coffee and flask of fresh milk on demand and FREE CUPCAKES and fruit at all times- perfect!! Can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travellingteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,299 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
717 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,132 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing