We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very recommendable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Ebeltoft, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very recommendable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel - highly recommendable! Very nice room, friendly staff, perfect food, and the location could'nt be better! Would definitely stay here again next time I come to Glasgow ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Bloch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    285
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
129
495
83
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We'd booked Grasshopper on the strength of other Tripadviser references. The place is different, far from a conventional hotel, but is a great place. Nice clean rooms, friendly and very helpful staff, with a great location.

There is no bar or restaurant, but the downtown location means that is irrelevant.

The only minor trap, which we fell for, is that although the hotel is adjacent Central Station, most trains come into Queen Street, which meant a short cab fare. Not the Grasshopper's fault!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I chose the Grasshoppers Hotel mainly for its convenience for Glasgow Central station, and it certainly scores on that front -- from hotel reception to the station platforms takes less than 5 minutes. But despite overlooking the station my room was very quiet, which is not bad for a Saturday night in central Glasgow. The room was certainly compact, but perfectly acceptable for a short stay, and the hotel wifi was good. Lovely welcome tray, and breakfast was pleasant with a self-service buffet for everything including the cooked breakfast. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The only negative was a problem with the water in the evening. Whilst not the hotel's fault that the water supply was switched off for a few hours for emergency repairs, they could have communicated more proactively with guests about what was happening rather than me having to go to reception and ask what was wrong. But other than that slight hiccup, it was an enjoyable stay, and I will definitely turn next time I'm in Glasgow.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BrightCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Visited Glasgow and stayed at the Grasshopper Hotel, Had some concerns about entering from the street, and lift to the sixth floor but presented no problems to us at any time or in the evenings. Very modern rooms, but very small, would not like to stay for more than two nights, extremely suitable for business people. Hard to find a place for the cases. Our rooms were at the rear of the hotel, over the Glasgow Central station but this certainly did not present a problem at all. Kitchen area was very small, but bright and cheerful. Breakfast was well presented and ladies cheerful and helpful at all times as were the other taff there. . We did not have an evening meal there as there are so many eating places within a short walk, so cannot comment on them, did see that the menu was quite small however. We did love the extra touch of small cakes and shortbreads for your use on the hall table as you entered and fresh milk was always provided when required.

Room Tip: Was told to have a room away from the front street area (noise) but generally found the hotel quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is an excellent "boutique hotel" situated right in the heart of things. Don't be put off by the entry into the building and the security reception there. Once on the 6th floor, you will find yourself in a different world.....a modern, bright ambience with very comfortable,spacious rooms. We found the staff friendly, helpful and anxious to please. The breakfasts and evening meals are very good and the 2/3 course dinners and wine are priced very reasonably. The dining area is fairly small, but we always managed to get a table for two easily.
We would highly recommend Grasshoppers to anyone and would certainly return when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to think of anything negative to say about Grasshopper's. It's as central as it is possible to be and everything about the place is clean and fresh. Check-in is quick and efficient and everyone is friendly and helpful.

The breakfast room might be a cramped affair, but we discovered that if you sit at the table next to the door you don't feel quite so hemmed in! It only took as five stays to discover that.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank We_are_Ali_and_Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel advertises itself as a "luxury" hotel but unfortunately failed to deliver properly on the basics. It wasn't clean, the shower had hairs in it, the back of the sliding door was quite dirty (seemed like the bathroom was only ever cleaned with the door open), the kettle was very dusty. It was noisy. I didn't find noise from the station a big issue (although there was some noise), mainly the problem was from within the hotel. We could hear the couple in the next room talking, all the noise from people walking and talking in the corridor, and I was woken every time the loud phone in reception rang (starting from 6am)...Also there was no water in the hotel from 6.30pm until after midnight so we couldn't wash or use the toilet. On enquiring we were told the problem was only with hot water, but we had absolutely no water from either tap and the toilet wouldn't flush. Eventually bottled water was provided but we didn't get any apology even when we asked for a discount the next morning (they did give us a small discount but again no apology for the disruption).
Some other niggles - the "large" double was on the smaller side for a double room - no wardrobe, just two hooks on the wall, tiny bathroom which was in a wooden pod in the room (thin sliding wooden door which didn't offer a lot of privacy), the only place to hang your towel is inside the shower. They advertise the place as having custom-made furniture and I feel this is mainly because the rooms are too small to fit non-fitted furniture.
The whole place is *very* nicely designed and furnished, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was tasty but we didn't see any of the added extras like cakes or shortbread that other reviews mention. The smarties in the room were a nice touch but I wish I had booked the Premier Inn at less than half the price (where I stayed last weekend) and bought my own smarties. At least there I got a good night's sleep and was able to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasshoppersglasgow, Owner at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Clearly you did not enjoy your stay. The water board turned off the water without notice to us which was extremely inconvenient for us all. We hate hearing that the room was not properly prepared for your visit and we are embarrassed by this. This rarely happens as you will see from other reviews. We have never had a complaint of noise from other rooms in over 20,000 stays and we will look into this. Our customer service was poor in not recognizing the problems you faced and we should have reacted better and with more generosity. Do call us and we will apologize to you in person and tell you what we have in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#9 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing