We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Look a bit closer and the general fabric of the hotel corridors is shabby and down at heel. I found the room rather gloomy and depressing. However, it was clean and the bed very comfortable.Another bonus is the large flat screen TV with SKY + . Reasonable value for money for an overnight stay in a city centre hotel but I think I'd rather pay a bit more for something a bit smarter. Can't understand the 'Excellent' reviews it gets. I'd rate it 'Average' at best.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vcfrhgdsrgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for taking time to post a review. I'm disappointed at your overall experience. I can tell you that the building has just had the roof replaced and during the work some leaks caused damage to some corridor walls. For Insurance reasons we could not carry out repairs right away but we are now in a position to plan the repainting of all of the corridors of the hotel.

Sean
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    285
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
129
495
83
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is on the sixth floor of an office block unusual but very good the staff are very friendly and food is lovely you need a code to get in and out of the hotel if your looking for a hotel for a weekend or over night stay I would definitely recommend The Grasshopper Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. From the street I wondered what I was in for as the building is in desperate need of a clean. However, I had checked the hotel out on Tripadviser first so knew it would be good. From the moment I stepped out the lift (the hotel is the 6th floor) I have been blown away; the staff are all friendly, professional and fall over themselves to help in any way they can; the decor is modern and easy on the eye, the food is just wonderful. Sometimes it is the little things that make the difference, such as cup cakes and shirtbread on tables in the corridor to help yourself to, two tubes of smarties and two bottles of water in the room. Tea and coffee making facilities are standard but the coffee is freshly ground for the cafetiere and the milk is provided in a little vaccuum flask - yes, real milk - skimmed, semi or full - your choice!!

I will be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the Grasshoppers a night while on business in Glasgow. I often use premier inn, but fancied a change, and am so glad I chose this hotel. What a quirky, lovely place. Great location next to the central train station, and I felt safe as a single female. It is high in the sky, on the top floors of an office block. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for me. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the room had hardwood floors, SKY TV and a luxurious bed ... I had the best night's sleep! There was complimentary homemade shortbread when I arrived. The supper was delicious - I asked ahead and found out their menu changed daily so I felt confident the ingredients were fresh. They had a healthy eating option, which I appreciated as I travel so much. Breakfast had such a relaxed atmosphere, with long tables and food freshly prepared for each guest and again, really quality tasty ingredients. I will always stay here from now on when I'm in Glasgow ... and I'm bringing my partner next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a central hotel right in heart of Glasgow City Centre.

On arrival it is a rather concealed entrance, security access required! Located on 6th floor lift takes you up to reception area which is small compact and efficient staff. There was some delicious complimentary home baking available at reception Carrot Cake & Short Bread. Mmmmmmm

Room:

Spacious with 3 people staying there was more than enough room. Additional cold up bed was very comfortable and warm. Sky TV, Tea making facilities, area to hang clothes (no wardrobe!) more suited to short stay if you don't like living out of a suitcase! Room was on the whole clean, windows could have done with a clean, it seems like it was a while since they were done.

Bathroom: Great spacious shower cubicle, excellent extras shampoo, conditioner and soap from Arran Aromatics. Nice soft towels! Nice and clean!

Kitchen / Breakfast: Outstanding! Delicious! Loads of choices! Yum yum! Great staff! Massive pot of tea! I can't fault this breakfast!

A great wee overnight stay, efficient service, comfortable clean facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesey73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Got a great price of £35 a head for bed and breakfast as myself and two friends decided to stay in a hotel rather than mess around getting taxis in 3 different directions after a big night out.
Hotel is immaculate, in a perfect location and serves a lovely fresh breakfast. Infact the only gripes I have is with actually getting in as their front door seems a bit temperamental! One of the receptionists came across as rude in places but could be forgiven due to the fact that she seemed under pressure due to a queue of guests and a phone ringing of the hook.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'd picked Grasshoppers after reading good reviews on here and decided it was great for a couple of days break and something different to do during my holidays other than sitting at home!
It was really easy to find (do google maps if your not too sure like I did!) and once in the hotel I was made to feel very welcome and the staff were very helpful and genuine. I had booked a single room but once I got there I had been moved into a double room for the same price which was a nice surprise! I was shown around where breakfast and dinners would be and into my room. The room was lovely, very cosy & homely with great decor.
For me it was a great location as it only took 5/10 minutes to get to Buchanan Street and I also met a friend at Central Station which was just round the corner!

All in all I would most deffo pick this hotel to stay in Glasgow as it's really central to all the shops, transport, restaurants etc and great value for money as well. I will deffo be back! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing