We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quirky place, spotlessly clean and luxurious sleep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky place, spotlessly clean and luxurious sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the Grasshoppers a night while on business in Glasgow. I often use premier inn, but fancied a change, and am so glad I chose this hotel. What a quirky, lovely place. Great location next to the central train station, and I felt safe as a single female. It is high in the sky, on the top floors of an office block. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for me. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the room had hardwood floors, SKY TV and a luxurious bed ... I had the best night's sleep! There was complimentary homemade shortbread when I arrived. The supper was delicious - I asked ahead and found out their menu changed daily so I felt confident the ingredients were fresh. They had a healthy eating option, which I appreciated as I travel so much. Breakfast had such a relaxed atmosphere, with long tables and food freshly prepared for each guest and again, really quality tasty ingredients. I will always stay here from now on when I'm in Glasgow ... and I'm bringing my partner next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    285
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
129
495
83
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a central hotel right in heart of Glasgow City Centre.

On arrival it is a rather concealed entrance, security access required! Located on 6th floor lift takes you up to reception area which is small compact and efficient staff. There was some delicious complimentary home baking available at reception Carrot Cake & Short Bread. Mmmmmmm

Room:

Spacious with 3 people staying there was more than enough room. Additional cold up bed was very comfortable and warm. Sky TV, Tea making facilities, area to hang clothes (no wardrobe!) more suited to short stay if you don't like living out of a suitcase! Room was on the whole clean, windows could have done with a clean, it seems like it was a while since they were done.

Bathroom: Great spacious shower cubicle, excellent extras shampoo, conditioner and soap from Arran Aromatics. Nice soft towels! Nice and clean!

Kitchen / Breakfast: Outstanding! Delicious! Loads of choices! Yum yum! Great staff! Massive pot of tea! I can't fault this breakfast!

A great wee overnight stay, efficient service, comfortable clean facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesey73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Got a great price of £35 a head for bed and breakfast as myself and two friends decided to stay in a hotel rather than mess around getting taxis in 3 different directions after a big night out.
Hotel is immaculate, in a perfect location and serves a lovely fresh breakfast. Infact the only gripes I have is with actually getting in as their front door seems a bit temperamental! One of the receptionists came across as rude in places but could be forgiven due to the fact that she seemed under pressure due to a queue of guests and a phone ringing of the hook.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'd picked Grasshoppers after reading good reviews on here and decided it was great for a couple of days break and something different to do during my holidays other than sitting at home!
It was really easy to find (do google maps if your not too sure like I did!) and once in the hotel I was made to feel very welcome and the staff were very helpful and genuine. I had booked a single room but once I got there I had been moved into a double room for the same price which was a nice surprise! I was shown around where breakfast and dinners would be and into my room. The room was lovely, very cosy & homely with great decor.
For me it was a great location as it only took 5/10 minutes to get to Buchanan Street and I also met a friend at Central Station which was just round the corner!

All in all I would most deffo pick this hotel to stay in Glasgow as it's really central to all the shops, transport, restaurants etc and great value for money as well. I will deffo be back! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel having read the reviews on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. Very conveniently situated it was a great location from which to explore the city for the first time. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable with all that was needed for a weekend break. The street outside and the ground floor reception area was a little off putting but once on the hotel floor everything was fine.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

the hotel is minimalistic but with everything needed for a short break. Bed comfortable and staff excellent. Breakfast in very good in a basic kitchen but was very very clean and very enjoyable. Lovely fleshly baked bread and cupcakes too. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

When I leave a review here I like to look back at what other guests have experienced. As you will see the general consensus is 'Very Good' or 'Excellent' and I can't disagree with that. For those that gave poor reviews I can only say DO YOUR RESEARCH. The main complaints seem to be about the noise, lack of parking, the size and/or facilities in the room, difficulty finding it & the shady entrance. The first two are really quite easy to answer - this is a city centre hotel sandwiched between a main railway station and a busy road so it won't be quiet and on-site or local parking is unlikely. Having said that we were not disturbed by any undue noise on the 2 nights we stayed and we would not have dreamed of bringing the car. The rooms are very clearly described and, while minimal, are perfectly adequate for most. After all a good bed, an excellent shower and a good strong, reliable wi-fi signal are really all anyone needs. I'm not sure how anyone could miss the huge sign outside the hotel (look up?) but have to agree that the first impression of the entrance is disappointing.There are some niggles also about the rooms being too hot or too cold - our room was cool & comfortable and had both a fan & a heater so I can't see that being a problem. The price - in my opinion and in comparison with what else was on offer this was excellent value. Finally it is clear that the owner, the manager & the staff really care and want this hotel to be special - many early complaints are now dealt with.

Where the Grasshopper Hotel wins, over and above the great location and good rooms, is the whole experience. From the initial booking, where we had a small issue that was promptly resolved, it was clear that Grasshopper is trying to do something a little bit different. The cup cakes and fresh milk & coffee delivered to the room on arrival have been mentioned severally before - the meal deal is great too. A warm friendly dining room with a small but excellent menu and short but very good wine list only covers the facts - what I found really encouraging was the friendliness & the standing invitation not to dine alone (which could be ignored of course). The review by HanLH, who was there when we were, sums up the impact on a lone traveller of having a friendly welcome and others also joined in the convivial chat with the owner.

My only regret is that during my working years (I am recently retired) there wasn't anywhere like Grasshopper. Which is a little ironic - battered by many dreadful hotel experiences me & my friend and former work colleague Hugh once dreamed up the ideal place to stay if forced to do so on business. Largely it came down to 'somewhere nice to sleep' and 'something nice to eat' Grasshopper does both of those and wraps it in a warm & friendly atmosphere.

Will I stay again - certainly, would I recommend it - definitely. Hotels like Grasshopper, while I can see they would not appeal to everybody (no hotel can), should be encouraged for putting the customer at the heart of the operation.

Room Tip: Make time to dine & go for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank panda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing