We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Glasgow is a wonderful city to visit and this hotel is both well located and very pleasant. It is above the station, a converted floor of an old office block, which still has railway companies as tenants on the five floors below. New modern conversion, good breakfast and great hosts, who offered us a very welcome glass of wine on arrival. Nice touches like fondant fancies on cake stands and boxes of smarties to indulge you. The rooms aren't the largest, but it's the best hotel I've stayed in in Glasgow, and definitely to be recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank MargaretJonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
There are newer reviews for Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room was beautiful and clean and the staff friendly. Plus the location so close to the Glasgow Central Station was convenient. But the outside noise on a Saturday night really put a dent in our night's sleep.

Room Tip: Don't stay on a Saturday night or get a room not located on Union Street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacicalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel, great location, clean, helpful staff, great breakfast EXCEPT the breakfast room - cramped, squashed, too small for purpose, overbearing and traumatic! The location was perfect, hotel was very central, it was clean, modern, has all the usual and basic amenities and left luggage storage area. We had a triple room - a double with a 'put you up bed' that was really a bit small for for an average size person but adequate for a night. The breakfast room appeared to have been an afterthought in the design - much too small and cramped for the amount of guests although the actual breakfast was good. That is the only fault we could find!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraNorbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Arrived with friends for a weekend treat and staying here was just that, with the little extras in the room, water smarties,cake and coffee, we certainly got off on the right foot. Not having a communal room to sit with glass of bubbly for a catch up the staff let us use the kitchen (believe this is in the pipeline)Agree with previous reviews that the staff are extremely obliging and cook up a mean breakfast, the sausages are great.Rooms are very clean and comfortable,hotel is so central that you are well placed for shopping,eateries and bars not to mention it's proximity to the station,definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: prob less noise overlooking the station
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madame-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect - walking distance to everything, but our hotel faced out back towards the central train station, which would have been perfect if we came in via train, but it was still very quiet! The room was very clean and had the ikea feel to it - clean and unobtrusive. The breakfast was perfectly fine with bacon, sausages, toast, cereals and cheeses.
The staff were nice and hospitable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mashag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hidden hotel in the absolute centre of Glasgow is indeed a find! Private entrance and access by lift.
Nicole the receptionist couldn't have been any more helpful and made us very welcome indeed, in fact she refused to take a tip insisting that it was her pleasure (first time I have ever experienced this). Sky HD an unexpected bonus and free wifi.
No cupboards but hooks and hangers which was plenty for our overnight stay. Spotlessly clean with a really comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities and power shower made us really comfortable.

Breakfast was a tasty delight, served fresh from helpful pleasant staff. I have a wheat intolerance and could eat from the wide choice available at breakfast with no problem.

I will definitely return as it is in the heart of the city and would be great for those wishing to see all that Glasgow has to offer as travel from this location couldn't be any easier.

Also we were not charged any extra for our late (1pm) check out

Room Tip: Rooms facing Glasgow Central Station glass roof give a unique view and were very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnAE181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I spent one night here on business. I was emailed before and asked if I wanted supper - as I was likely to be arriving around 8.30 I said yes and was told it was booked. When I arrived there was no record of the booking but luckily the staff are 1000% helpful and I was fitted in.There were no prices anywhere but I had a stuffed mushroom (very good) and a chicken and leek pie (very acceptable if a little dry) and superbly cooked and seasoned carrots. I was quite full but couldn't resist 1/2 portion of chocolate bread and butter pudding of which I couldn't eat more than 1/2 the 1/2 portion (was so large) and it was excellent. To my utter amazement, when I came to pay the bill the cost of the meal was £10!!!! Seriously good value for well cooked home style food.Breakfast was nothing special (tinned grapefruit????) but perfectly adequate.

The free wifi was great, the bed was superb as were the pillows (makes a change in a hotel!), nice soap/ shampoo, big TV, fan in the room (hot air rises...), 2 x tubes of smarties (great touch) and fresh coffee brought to your room if you wanted - my only 'gripe' was the lack of double glazing - NOISY! (double glazing and air con would make the place fabulous)

Room Tip: Room 617 was noisy from the traffic below....
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,325 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,193 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,943 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $100 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing