We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

from the minute we stepped into the grasshopper we met great friendly staff. room was lovely and plenty of space. french fancies arrived with the fresh milk that arrived in a flask. also a container of chocolate eggs just outside in the corridor. lovely shower. Brilliant breakfast ,all freshly cooked and eggs cooked to order,fresh bread that definetly tasted homemade.No problems finding the hotel now has a big sign up above the door.

Room Tip: dont take 603 directly across from the kitchen so noisey in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lao11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    296
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
506
88
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A special place. Yes the entrance is a little dingy - classic city centre railway offices - but once inside the hotel you are made welcome. Comfortable bed, room temperature was normal not super heated and the windows open! Breakfast is very good - the cereal buffet comprehensive, with a well sourced cooked choice keeping warm on the side - with your own choice cooked to order as you wish. Best breakfast bread, properly crusty,soft and warm on the inside - can be toasted but....
With a room above Union Street we did get a bit of late night canyon yodelling, but it was a holiday weekend and Celtic had won the league! Measured against this there was absolutely no noise from inside the hotel - a unique experience- no hall treading/fire door slamming etc.
Try it - especially if you are travelling by train.
And Glasgow is really worth visiting - more than once. Thank you to all the Grasshopper staff for all the extra Easter treats.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bennywithoutacause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel is literally right next to Glasgow Central Station (30 seconds by foot). We had 3 people staying so we had a big spacious room at the end of the hall. Room was very clean and quiet. The shower works very well and the design is fresh. The staff were super helpful! Probably the best services i've come across for a very long time. Wifi didn't work in my room as the room was too far from the reception (only 1 modem shared by all rooms, and dodgy at times but not too bad). That part was abit of a downer but not a big problem as i could go to their dining area and use the wifi. The receptionist even offered me tea and coffee while i was sitting there! Breakfast was great: really good black coffee, bacon, tomatos, eggs made to order, yogurt/cereal, and very nice farmhouse bread. I haven't enjoyed a hotel stay and not complained once for a very long time. Would definitely come back if opportunity allows..this is a hotel/management ROLE MODEL for all the hotels out there!

Room Tip: if you want more convinient wifi usage choose a room nearer to the reception/dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my sister following a concert. It was really very handy for trains as it is right next to Glasgow Central and don't worry about noise, the hotel is on the 6th floor so well away from train noise and traffic. Staff were very helpful and friendly and on arrival we were given an iced fancy (cake) to have with our cuppa. Rooms were clean and the beds were really comfy. Would stay again and would recommend to friends and family.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeptight_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Really very good hotel. Just in the city center, few meters(!) from the Glasgow Central (main rail station). Rooms are clean. They are also quite small but the bigger ones are not necessary.
I have really enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: 621 was fine :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Just left Grasshoppers - highly recommend. Great location - especially if arriving via train to Central Station. Wonderful staff, meticuously clean, and a very nice breakfast - with fresh baked bread! As other's have commented best showers in the UK. I too did not want to check out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Directly adjacent to the Glasgow Central Station, Grasshoppers is perfectly situated for walking to nearby tourist sites and for taking the train to locations such as Edinburgh. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the hotel dining room upon our arrival and the evening chef gave us excellent restaurant recommendations within walking distance.

The room was smallish by North American standards, but I don’t understand why some North Americans seem to need so much room. My partner and I found it very comfortable and enjoyed endless cups of hot tea with milk provided instantly upon request. It was a relaxing oasis after a day of taking in the galleries and museums. The bed was comfy and the shower was roomy.

The breakfast was wonderful with many options to suit all tastes. My partner enjoyed muesli, yogurt, and fruit in the morning while I chose a hard-boiled egg, toast, and tomatoes. There was bacon and sausage for meat lovers.

We were there over Valentines and enjoyed Robbie Burns’ poem “A Red, Red Rose” left in our room while we were out. They are definitely not homophobic.

Only downside: I found that many hotels in the UK do not provide face clothes which is odd for those of us who use at least one a day each.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melodytimeranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,071 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,022 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing