We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We'll be back next year!”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very welcoming - my wife and I were made to feel at home immediately and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The personal touch was great - we did not feel like we were staying in a hotel but rather stopping with friends in their rather luxurious apartment. The breakfasts were excellent - in particular the fantastic fresh bread!

It's a great base in Glasgow and ideal for those who would like to wander on foot and discover the city centre. We've already booked to come back next year with a few friends
re.

Guests arriving by car should be aware that there is limited space in the busy road outside the building to drop off luggage. We would recommend parking in the nearby NCP (off Jamaica Street) and then walking to the hotel. It's only a 5 minute stroll.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    294
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
502
87
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed two nights and the accomodation wasvery good , feather duvets,fresh coffee,high quality bathroom prducts etc.
We were late for breakfast and Jo kindly reset the table and cooked us an excellent breakfast .
We will return

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

They are very gracious and the rooms are fantastic. Very good value. Amazingly quiet considering that you are next to the station.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pachter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fraserburgh
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2011

It really felt as though I was a VIP guest in someone's personal home. The rooms were modern and beautifully designed, the free wifi was prime too as I was there on business. The kitchen, though, is awesome because you can really get a nice snack and a friendly face anytime that you want during the day. It's sad, but I actually stayed in the hotel as long as possible prolonging my plans to go out and see the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We arrived early morning, met by very friendly staff, and shown to our rooms, on seeing the twin rooms we have already booked to come back with a few of my girlfriends. The hotel is scandinavian style with luxury touches, simple but gorgeous and good quality. The Kitchen was a lovely surprise producing fresh cooked breakfasts to order. No bar but the Manager was happy to chill our wine and provide glasses, and offer us The Kitchen if we wanted to sit there. Quiet unasuming hotel but with a touch of luxury and complemented by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenders01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thanks for your kind comments. We were delighted you had a great time and look forward to your return. All girls next time sounds like a busy one!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed at the hotel this week on a business trip to Glasgow. I was delayed so got into the hotel late but it was a real find when I was there. What’s really interesting is that the hotel has been designed over the top floor of a huge mansion block so there are offices below. However it really works. It has a really well designed, contemporary without being laboured or trying too hard. The pitch is just right.

Check in was quick and easy and very friendly. The friendliness continued to the morning staff and the guy on Reception was very helpful and professional. The lady running the kitchen was brilliant. Really engaging, knowledgeable and eager to help.

The place is new but it was immaculately clean. Rooms are styled well and everything you need is there. Scandinavian minimal meets city New York. Really nice toiletries which made my hair squeaky clean. Having the great shower, lovely beds and bedding, black out cuttings, etc are all good features.

Breakfast was excellent. Well cooked hot food and a choice of cold food, cereals, fruit etc and more if you wanted it. The bread was fantastic!

If I hand a tiny plea it would be to get lots or irons and ironing boards! This may be the case with hairdryers.

Great value for money and the location above the train station is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GV1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great Location and a great hotel. Everything clean and tidy and nice touch having a huge telly with Sky movies. All this accompanied by the great staff. Nothing too much trouble for these guys. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this hotel to any of my friends or colleagues. If I’m ever back in Glasgow this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Property: Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Address: Caledonian Chambers 87 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a luxury penthouse hotel with 29 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 29 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood panelled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe's largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh's renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing