We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasgow Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hostel, was in a lovely area of Glasgow within easy walking distance of everything you might need (or cheap taxi to places a little bit further). We had a good sized room for a great price and the staff were absolutely lovely and very helpful! The only downside is the wifi only works on the bottom level, so not in your room if you're higher up, not a huge deal though. You can purchase wine and beer from reception, and buy meals (made for you in the kitchen), which was a lovely touch. They have an excellent rate with a taxi company to take you to Glasgow airport, if you happen to be heading there. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 184 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Quite a good choice for accomodation in Glasgow (if you like hostel atmosphere). Bunk beds, shared bathroom and common kitchen and dining room. The staff is kind and helpful, you can equip yourself with maps and guides at the counter. The also sell beer, which is not very common in youth hostels :)
The only disadvantage, I found, is the distance from the centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snooka76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Unfortunately, this was the worst hostel I stayed in during my time in Scotland. Although situated in a nice big house, the rooms are very small. Too small for 6 people. There was no possibility to lock the door to the shower. Also the shower was a room of about 1mX1.5m, there was fungi on the roof because of the lack of a serious ventilation.
There's only one toilet for the whole room, and there are only two other public toilets in the building. Also no public bathroom. That might be fine for some people, but I don't like waiting to clean my teeth or for going to the toilet. There was also a strange smell in the rooms and aisles.
Very positive was, that the staff was always friendly and helpful, there was a board where they write what's going on in the city, e.g. concerts or exhibitions.
Breakfast is ok, not more not less (Maybe some more fruits next time).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Typical hostel experience. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the place was clean and the beds were comfortable. All rooms are en-suite. The hostel is situated in a quiet area near a nice park. For what I paid I cant really fault the place. I had a meal cooked for me one evening which was of a good quality. There is a self catering kitchen which is also clean and well stocked - there is a sign up suggesting good places nearby to shop for food. I did not try the breakfast offering as I had to leave early both mornings and breakfast does not start until 0730.

If arriving by train the SYHA website suggests using the Glasgow subway. I found it easier to just get the train to Charing Cross (one stop from Queen Street Low Level) and walk up the hill 10 mins. Consult Google Maps.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed at this hostel recently for two nights, and I feel like it was a great choice of accommodation. All of the staff that I interacted with we're really nice and helpful, even when it was late at night. The place was clean and I felt like they took pride in what they offered. The only issue we had (a window that wouldn't close) was handled in a timely manner. It's located in a really cute neighborhood, close to a subway stop and within an easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping. I do wish the wifi had been free but I found plenty of it in the surrounding area so it wasn't too inconvenient. If I return to Scotland (which I hope to do), I will definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I lived in Glasgow for ten years and was going back for a wedding with some friends (we were 3 women in their 20s/ 30s). We booked a 4 bed private dorm with en-suite bathroom in this hostel as it seemed good value and I knew the location was fantastic.

We weren't disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to provide tourist information for the city. The room was basic but clean, warm and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate. The beds were bunk beds, basic but comfortable. I was impressed by how quite it was that night too, especially as I'd noticed there was a large group of teenagers staying there. I heard a little bit of fire-door slamming but nothing more.

My only criticism was the bit of black mould in the shower (which the cleaner should really be more thorough in scrubbing) and the lack of paper towels to dry your hands on in the bathroom.

Otherwise, very comfortable and affordable hostel in one of the most beautiful parts of Glasgow, right on the edge of the city centre, west end and kelvingrove park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adelemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Wonderful location. A bit far from the city centre, but you can easily reach that walking (about twenty minutes). Good value for money. Kind welcome and very helpful staff. Rooms and common areas were nice, well organised, spacious and clean. Unluckily all the hostel was quite cold, which was very annoying. Outside was snowing and coming back to the hostel I just wanted to find a warm place to relax!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoleLunaBergamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,911 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#65 of 93 in Glasgow
318 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Youth Hostel

Address: 8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range: $25 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Youth Hostel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasgow Youth Hostel is situated in the West End of Scotland's largest city, overlooking Kelvingrove Park. Providing budget accommodation with 110 beds, Glasgow Youth Hostel offers a range of private and multi-share rooms and a self-catering apartment which sleeps up to 6 people. All rooms have an en-suite toilet and separate shower facilities. Glasgow Youth Hostel offers spacious and comfortable common areas including a lounge and TV room, games room, self-catering kitchen and dining room. This youth hostel is perfect for accommodating groups, families and individuals and takes care to ensure rooms are allocated with everyone's comfort and enjoyment in mind. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing