We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasgow Youth Hostel
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Good Hostel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Typical hostel experience. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the place was clean and the beds were comfortable. All rooms are en-suite. The hostel is situated in a quiet area near a nice park. For what I paid I cant really fault the place. I had a meal cooked for me one evening which was of a good quality. There is a self catering kitchen which is also clean and well stocked - there is a sign up suggesting good places nearby to shop for food. I did not try the breakfast offering as I had to leave early both mornings and breakfast does not start until 0730.

If arriving by train the SYHA website suggests using the Glasgow subway. I found it easier to just get the train to Charing Cross (one stop from Queen Street Low Level) and walk up the hill 10 mins. Consult Google Maps.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    68
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
14
22
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed at this hostel recently for two nights, and I feel like it was a great choice of accommodation. All of the staff that I interacted with we're really nice and helpful, even when it was late at night. The place was clean and I felt like they took pride in what they offered. The only issue we had (a window that wouldn't close) was handled in a timely manner. It's located in a really cute neighborhood, close to a subway stop and within an easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping. I do wish the wifi had been free but I found plenty of it in the surrounding area so it wasn't too inconvenient. If I return to Scotland (which I hope to do), I will definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I lived in Glasgow for ten years and was going back for a wedding with some friends (we were 3 women in their 20s/ 30s). We booked a 4 bed private dorm with en-suite bathroom in this hostel as it seemed good value and I knew the location was fantastic.

We weren't disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to provide tourist information for the city. The room was basic but clean, warm and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate. The beds were bunk beds, basic but comfortable. I was impressed by how quite it was that night too, especially as I'd noticed there was a large group of teenagers staying there. I heard a little bit of fire-door slamming but nothing more.

My only criticism was the bit of black mould in the shower (which the cleaner should really be more thorough in scrubbing) and the lack of paper towels to dry your hands on in the bathroom.

Otherwise, very comfortable and affordable hostel in one of the most beautiful parts of Glasgow, right on the edge of the city centre, west end and kelvingrove park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Wonderful location. A bit far from the city centre, but you can easily reach that walking (about twenty minutes). Good value for money. Kind welcome and very helpful staff. Rooms and common areas were nice, well organised, spacious and clean. Unluckily all the hostel was quite cold, which was very annoying. Outside was snowing and coming back to the hostel I just wanted to find a warm place to relax!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoleLunaBergamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hostel is clean, quiet and the staff is decently friendly and helpful. They have a big kitchen and eating area with cooking and eating utensils which is nice.

Everyone sort of does their own thing...this isn't really a community oriented hostel. The toilet/sink area is separate from the shower which is good. We had a six bed room and the bathroom was inside the suite so that was nice. The walk is not too far from the main streets of Glasgow.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The staff, specially tthe manager does not care for your comgort. They let a group of 15 teenagers and 3 or 4 aniimators hold a meeting in the dining room during dinner.
The member of the staff even contributed to the disturbance by asking the kid's name.
Ther was no room in the kitachen, no sponges, no rest. The service lacked of professionalism, no soap for the laundry, you cold see the look in the receptionist's eye (bored) when a customer seemed too long before me. When I complain to the manager about the dining room, he told me off. All this with a smile and kindness. This, is the onky bad thing about Glasgow. I will never go back there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Here's a place you can get to know others coming over to visit the city of Glasgow. The place is very central, close to the University of Glasgow and also the city centre. With respect to the rooms, they are small and this is a shared accomodation, so not much can be expected from it. But they are clean and the staff is frendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AneeshB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Merchant City
Euro Hostel Glasgow
Euro Hostel Glasgow
#10 of 49 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Youth Hostel

Property: Glasgow Youth Hostel
Address: 8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Youth Hostel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasgow Youth Hostel is situated in the West End of Scotland's largest city, overlooking Kelvingrove Park. Providing budget accommodation with 110 beds, Glasgow Youth Hostel offers a range of private and multi-share rooms and a self-catering apartment which sleeps up to 6 people. All rooms have an en-suite toilet and separate shower facilities. Glasgow Youth Hostel offers spacious and comfortable common areas including a lounge and TV room, games room, self-catering kitchen and dining room. This youth hostel is perfect for accommodating groups, families and individuals and takes care to ensure rooms are allocated with everyone's comfort and enjoyment in mind. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glasgow Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing