We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary stay but frendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasgow Youth Hostel
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ordinary stay but frendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Here's a place you can get to know others coming over to visit the city of Glasgow. The place is very central, close to the University of Glasgow and also the city centre. With respect to the rooms, they are small and this is a shared accomodation, so not much can be expected from it. But they are clean and the staff is frendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AneeshB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    68
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
14
22
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leannescot
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We booked a double room for a Friday night and we were very impressed with our room - it was on the top floor of the hostel and it had it's own bathroom and shower area. We also had a great view over Kelvingrove Park and the Clyde. The room was clean, secure and when we experienced difficulties with noise during the night, staff came up quickly and sorted it out.
The hostel was in a good location for Byres Road and we loved discovering Ashton Lane off Byres Road - a little surprise in the middle of Glasgow! The sightseeing bus for Glasgow stops on Byres Road so the yha is in a good location for getting to a stop easily if you fancy doing the tour.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeretBear28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Very nice hostel!
Not expensive, clean, and calm, and good staff.
A bit far from the center, but a cab will only cost you 4p so do not hesitate.
Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angyquerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I paid for a single room with ensuite bathroom - which I think should include towels and possibly toiletries. For the price I paid for the room I was very disappointed that I had to pay extra for towels, toiletries and the breakfast. The room I stayed in smelt of smoke and was little more than a cell.The breakfast was overpriced and inadequate. I paid £4.95 for a tiny stale croissant even though they advertised more choice..Very noisy rooms and very basic beds.The staff were obviously not trained in talking to people or explaining anything clearly to the guests about the hostel. Next time I visit Glasgow I will be staying at the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rifab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

Close to Glasgow's vibrating West End, on the top of a wee hill. Hard to climb up with the luggage, but worth it! Can recommend the breakfast (u have to pay for it).

Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MeikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

I stayed at this Hostel 3 years ago with a friend doing a short road trip around England and Scotland visiting University's and some Nightlife. While we didn't spend much time in the hostel, we were welcomed by friendly staff and the hostel was quite well furnished inside. The dorm we stayed in was an 8 bed but was quite roomy compared to others I have experienced, it as modern and relatively clean. The Bathroom was small but did the job. I would definitely use this hostel again without hesitation if staying in Glasgow on a budget. The only downside was that it was a bit difficult to find and quite a walk out from the centre of town!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanDeerskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, west oz
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

one night only in a triple ensuite room, the location is beautiful, overlooking the parklands surrounding the west end. Staff v helpful, with booking a car & advising where to watch premiure league match at a local bar. The room was basic, beds average, bathroom clean, breakfast okay..probably wouldn't order that again in hindsight. A lovely base to see a surprisingly beautiful renewed Glasgow. Glaswegians v friendly in general

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budgetbudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Merchant City
Euro Hostel Glasgow
Euro Hostel Glasgow
#10 of 49 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Youth Hostel

Property: Glasgow Youth Hostel
Address: 8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Youth Hostel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasgow Youth Hostel is situated in the West End of Scotland's largest city, overlooking Kelvingrove Park. Providing budget accommodation with 110 beds, Glasgow Youth Hostel offers a range of private and multi-share rooms and a self-catering apartment which sleeps up to 6 people. All rooms have an en-suite toilet and separate shower facilities. Glasgow Youth Hostel offers spacious and comfortable common areas including a lounge and TV room, games room, self-catering kitchen and dining room. This youth hostel is perfect for accommodating groups, families and individuals and takes care to ensure rooms are allocated with everyone's comfort and enjoyment in mind. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glasgow Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing