We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #64 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had the family room at the front of the hotel which is very spacious. Everything is clean and tidy

The receptionist/manager/cook/waiter should be given a gold medal of his own for being so friendly and cheerful.

The Hotel is next to the Museum and close to bus stops that take you into the centre of Glasgow (about 10 minutes by bus, 20 minute walk).

Room Tip: Room 1 large with Double and a single bed. It is at the front of the hotel and gets most of the sunl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Newbury_Chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 582 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is in a great location near to a good selection of bars and restaurants.
Some parts of the hotel look a bit scruffy but this is more due to the age of the building rather than a lack of cleaning. We had rooms 9 and 10 which were small but had very high ceilings which made it feel spacious. The bathroom was on the small side but perfectly adequate with plenty of hot water. There was a plentiful supply of tea, coffee etc. The breakfast was good with bacon sausage black pudding hash brown fried eggs mushrooms and tomatoes. We saw the same receptionist all the time and he was a pleasant enough chap. One bad thing was the beds the mattresses were past their best and really uncomfortable to sleep on as there was not much padding left over the springs.
For the price ( given that it was the day before the start of the commonwealth games ), the location and the great breakfast I would have given this place a good had the beds been more comfortable

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back to avoid any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GUARDSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you very much for the very kind comments regarding the hotel and staff, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have taken note of your comments regarding the beds in Rms 9 & 10, although we have had no other complaints the beds will be tested and if need be will be replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at the Kelvingrove Hotel on the 17th July for one night as our daughter was training as a volunteer for the Commonwealth games. The hotels location was brilliant with some excellent restaurants nearby , the family room we had was spacious and very clean with tea/coffee facilities. The breakfast was large and wonderfully cooked. George the front man of the Hotel was brilliant !!!!, he was so very friendly and helpful to us. Our daughter is camping in Glasgow for the duration on the games and George told her she could call in to see him if she needed any information of the local area etc. Overall a great place to stay with great staff .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I first stayed in the hotel over 2 years ago, I have stayed many times and i will keep going back. The staff are very friendly and are always available for help. The hotel itself is very small but the rooms are excellent considering its size, stayed in a variety of the rooms including the double, triple and family rooms and i have not once been disappointed. The hotel is a walkable distance from Glasgow's nightlife however if you wanted a taxi, it wont cost you more than £5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a stay here with friends on a overnight visit to Glasgow! The lady on reception was nice and friendly and took us to our room on arrival. The room was very nice and appeared clean, I didn't give it too close a look (I'm not someone who inspects with a fine tooth comb!) but no complaints I could see! The room we stayed was 3 single beds very spacious and only £80 for the night (and a Saturday night no less!) very good price between 3 of us!! Decent size telly on the wall, tea and coffee amenities! My only issue would be the noise from what I assume is the water system (as mentioned in some other reviews!) whenever you ran the taps/shower or flush the toilet it makes a loud noise on and off until you turn off or the toilet has stopped flushing! Not a big problem during the day however an issue if you go the toilet in the night or someone from another room had gotten up early but for one night it's ok, had I been staying longer and the potential for being woken by it on a regular basis maybe not so? Might have just been our room and those around maybe! Anyway Maybe something that can look at, or know about but can't do anything about? So Receptionist called us taxis when we needed them (ladies in heels and bit of walking doesn't go well!) cost us about 3/3.50 so no big cost. The location of the hotel is about 15 min walk (5min taxi) from the top end of sauchiehall st and the start of were the shops/pubs are! We walked from Glasgow Central up hope st then up sauchiehall st took us about 20/25 mins to get to the hotel!! No it's not right on top if the hustle and bustle but a) this isn't a bad thing and b) it's certainly not far out! Close enough to be a base not too close to be rowdy and noisey!! All in all a good hotel nice and close enough location to the centre and station (if you like walking and if you don't then cheap enough in a taxi) I'd stay there again if I was back up for the night definately!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Merseyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Kelvingrove Hotel is in a great location, there is so much all within a short walking distance. We didn't have to use our car at all while we were there. The service was very good. The concierge was very helpful and has a great sense of humour. The room was very comfortable as was the King size bed. I would recommend this hotel. Breakfast was brilliant. Great value for money.

Room Tip: The only draw back was noise from the street, and our room faced onto the street. I think rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Penny917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful people here, main male receptionist/waiter/porter/cleaner was just incredible he did all the jobs very well. The room was little but cute, wifi was stable. I had a shared bathroom which was very clean. There were ants in my room but not a big deal, I get that its summer. Tv reception got a bit shaky from time to time, but again no big deal. Breakfast cooked to order which was lovely. Perfect West End location! Ps coffee place up through the park on Gibson street was awesome 'artisans' I think...

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
216 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
594 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
830 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
320 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $66 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing