We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Overnight Stay”
Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #65 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Was slightly disappointed with the hotel. Old-fashioned, and the decor is not very attractive on the inside. The doors of the rooms make it feel more like a prison (big, grey, unattractive things). The staff were fine and pleasant, but it was just a bit of a letdown. Good location, but it dire need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calum375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

We are sorry you felt disappointed with your stay with us, as you moved around the hotel perhaps you noticed that the reception area and corridors had been refurbished, however the room you were allocated is one of 8 rooms still to be done, this has been an ongoing process since purchasing the hotel 3 years ago. The design for the hotel and colour schemes were commissioned from an award winning Scottish Interior Designer, the colour of the doors is actually called Mushroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 581 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our room was clean, spacious and well decorated. Staff were friendly and pleasant and breakfast was lovely. We were upgraded to a triple room free of charge which was a fantastic surprise. The pillows were really quite flat which was a shame but since we were given 3 each it wasn't a massive problem. Although breakfast was lovely, it would have been nice to still have access to the drinks while we were eating as the water/juice was removed from the room when we were still enjoying our food.

We had a lovely stay and will definitely be back,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleyBump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good value in my view, and that comes from a man whose home town motto in latin translates as "You didn't pay retail, did you?"
Make sure you get the cheaper rate for the full breakfast by booking on line from the hotel. Slept the sleep of the just downstairs and the room managed to avoid that bunker basement feel. Also enjoyed George and his backchat at breakfast. Kelvingrove Museum and the Hunterian a short walk away, and the Willow tea room approximately 25 minutes. Enjoyed Glasgow as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdyEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights with 2 daughters. very spacious, warm + comfortable room.
Staff extremely helpful + friendly. Breakfast was cooked to order. Excellent if you want a traditional
english breakfast but selection a little limited if you prefer fruit/cereal.
Lots of good restaurants nearby + easy access to city centre by bus or taxi.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenage-mutants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Found this hotel at the last minute and I'm glad I had... Great location with great service .the gentleman on reception was really fiendly. The wifi was excellent and the room was really clean and spacious.. The breakfast was spotless and arrived quickly. I definitely will be returning 10/10

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 780Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed at Hotel while attending concert at Glasgow Hydro. Couldn't fault the friendliness of staff here and rooms were very clean well decorated and of good size, only thing was the shower which needed a bit of coaxing to heat up and a bit noisy. That said it was only minor. Breakfast was good with choice of cereals, fruit etc followed by a cooked breakfast with toast tea/coffee. It was good to have free Wi-Fi as well.Hotel is well located for SECC and great for pubs, restaurants and shopping all nearby. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Had room 16 nice and quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heatherjgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The welcome on arrival was friendly and jovial and the room spotlessly clean, in fact because we arrived early they were still steam cleaning the bathroom. The plumbing was noisy but the noise only operated whilst you were in the bathroom and did not spoil our stay here. The breakfast was very well cooked and tasty. The city tour bus picks up close to the hotel which is also a bonus and the receptionist was helpful with other bus routes and sites to see during our visit. We would book here again if we visit Glasgow in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter as they do not have road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
215 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
594 reviews
Albion Hotel
#47 of 93 in Glasgow
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
828 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
315 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $66 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing