We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Friendly Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelvingrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kelvingrove Hotel
Ranked #67 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Friendly Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here when we went to Secc Glasgow to see Mrs Browns Boys. We arrived at the Hotel to a very warm welcome. Our check-in was a breeze and we were promptly taken down stairs to our room which was at the back of the hotel lovely and cosy which we felt as we walked in.The room was recently decorated with lovely new furniture and very clean, also the bed was very comfortable. We had a tasty cooked breakfast which was to order and very hot, it set us up for the day. The staff are great nothing to much trouble very homely, The location is great for Kelvingrove Art Gallery University and Byers Road the heart of the West End. We will be back the next time we are in Glasgow. We will recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeh751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    187
    87
    46
    17
See reviews for
96
175
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here as a stopover before heading onto a more rural part of Scotland. We werent too fussed as to what it was going to be like as it was really just a place to get our heads down for a few hours. On a taxi journey to the hotel the driver implied we were heading to some kind of shanty town so we were quite concerned. When we reached the hotel however we were very very pleasantly surprised. The outside was immaculate with fresh hanging shrubs and plants adorning the entrance. We were greeted by a genuine receptionist who informed us that although it was an hour till checking in time we were very welcome to leave our cases there until we returned.

When we returned an hour later out cases had already been taken to our rooms for us. The hotel and our room was truly spotless and there was a lovely smell of cleaning producst throughout. Our room was down a small flight of stairs and had a modern decor and an en suite.We couldnt get our tv to work on arrival but the receptionist came down immediately and rectified the problem for us (it was our error not the hotels).

We could come and go as we pleased and I believe there were 24 hour staff on reception.

Breakfast the next morning was a full cooked and you could help yourself to buffet breakfast while you waited eg breakfast juices, tea, coffee, cereal, some fruit. This was slightly limited though but did the job!

We had a great nights sleep - very confy beds!

The only downside was the view from our room which was a bit dismal - old sofas dumped etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missacorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent the night in Glasgow on business and as accommodation goes more than adequate. I stay in Hotels and B&B's frequently and this was a pleasant stay.Friendly staff and good breakfast. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to stay for two nights. the room was fine enough until we used the toilet. Water and excrement came up the shower plug hole. We complained and the staff member said he would upgrade our room the next day, although he couldn't have cared less about our problem and we were made to feel as if we were being an inconvenience. The next morning we went up to get a couple of Tins of juice which turned out were months out of date. we eventually moved room although the smell and noise from the plumbing system was still distinct. in the new room we came across a lot of hairs on bed linen,bathroom floor and shower. I'm just glad we were only using the place for a bed at night

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpatio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the unfortunate incident with the toilet in your room, this could not have been foreseen and as such our Duty Manager did his best in difficult circumstances. As the hotel was full there was no alternative room to move you to, you were directed to a bathroom which is not en suite and is primarily used by the staff, this meant you had a clean shower etc to use, when you went out the Manager went in and scrubbed the shower and toilet to try and alleviate the smell, he assured you that in the morning you would be moved to a larger room.
Unfortunately the standard of cleanliness in the room you were moved to was not our usual standard, in his haste to get you into the room quickly he did not check the room beforehand, for that please once again accept our apologies.
Regarding the out of date cans of juice, we have had problems before with the local supplier who has in the past sold us cans which were already out of date, the staff are aware of this and we have now implemented a procedure by which any bought in the future will have the dates recorded so that we can monitor them properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltspring Is.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in a 3 bed room with plenty of space to move about. There was no elevator and the plumbing was noisy making a loud roar every time we used the water tap or toilet. However we were in the basement so perhaps the other rooms didn't have this problem. The shower tap needed two strong hands to turn on/off . They serviced a full hot breakfast as well as having a coffee machine and cold cerials and juice. Breakfast was 10 pounds extra. Staff was friendly and helpful . Large flat screne TV in room. Computer for guests in lobby as well as a pay phone. We found the temperature of our room to be fine. Carting our luggage down and up the flight of stairs wasn't pleasant. The hotel is about a15 minutes walk to the city and a 8 minute walk to the Art gallery. A large park is only a block away. There are quite a few restaurants around the area. A local bus can be taken to the airport and stops minutes away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basement .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Staff were very nice and helpful. The room was adequately clean, the bathroom had cracked tiles and some mildew, and was so very small. The bed cover was not even summer duvet standard, so I was freezing. Yes there was an oil radiator, but the central heating radiator should have been working, especially as the previous reveiws in Jan13 had already highlighted this!!! The heated towel rail did nothing in the bathroom either, hence didn't bother with a shower! Couldn't use the wardrobe as it was in the wong way round in an alcove! Booked the room based on well taken photos and description of victorian style rooms. More like basement Premier Inn rooms, not what I was expecting at all. The walls are also paper thin.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet, but don't be fooled by the room number provided on your booking ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerBabe1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are sorry your stay at the Kelvingrove was not as you expected. We would like to address some of the points you raised.
Duvets, all of our duvets are 13 tog rating.
The towel rail in the bathroom was not switched on, there is a switch outwith the bathroom which needs to be on for the towel rail to function.
We have checked the wardrobe and there is no problem opening the doors.
Although the building is over 100yrs old we have never described the Kelvingrove as being Victorian and the hotel is currently undergoing modernisation. Being of that age the walls are 12" thick.
Reference to room numbers on confirmation documents is a mystery as we do not give out room numbers prior to arrival, these are only given to guest's at check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had booked a two night stay during the week (6th & 7th Feb).

On arrival, the gentleman on the front desk seemed friendly enough, albeit rather hurried.

On arriving in my room I noticed that the room was rather cool (not extremely cold, but not warm either) and that there was an oil heater in my room. The bathroom however had no heating at all and was very cold indeed. I went to the front desk and enquired whether there was a problem with the heating, to be told there was not, but they did not heat the whole hotel, all the time and that was why i had been given an oil heater. I reported that the bathroom was very cold and was told that they were unaware of this and an electrician would be called in the morning. I was offered another room, on the warning it may be cold as it had not had the oil heater on. However, it transpired that this room also had a very cold bathrom. I was rather put off by the manner of the chap on the front desk, who at that point was not particularly apologetic, seemed defensive and made me feel I was making a fuss over nothing. In fact I think his words were "I don't know what's wrong with the heating in the bathroom, I am not an electrician". It had been a very long day and I would have appreciated better customer service.

I resigned myself to staying, however the final straw was when I ran the water in the shower to find that there wasn't hot water. I ran the shower on hot for ten minutes to be sure of this. The water from the shower did not heat up, although the hot tap in the basin had hot water. I then checked out.

The chap on the desk was quite then quite apologetic and polite and helped me with a swift refund and offered to call me a taxi, which was kind of him. I found an alternative hotel on the same street which was of very good quality and was told that they recall one other guest previously checking into their hotel after a bad stay at the Kelvingrove due to problems with the heating.

I believe this is a fair review and I am happy to be contacted by the Kelvingrove if further feedback is required.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranmali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are sorry you had a disappointing experience at the Kelvingrove.
With regard to the oil heater, this was tested, switched on and left for an hour and then the room temperature was taken, it was 70degrees, and the room was warm.
Unfortunately the towel rail in the bathroom was not working, this was repaired the following day by our maintenance team, our managers do not attempt to repair anything electrical as they are not qualified.
As you checked into one of the other hotels in the area who are our competitors it is hardly surprising that they would sympathise with you and make adverse comments about the Kelvingrove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Albion Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvingrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Property: Kelvingrove Hotel
Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing