We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT HAS HAPPENED HERE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
Ranked #80 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WHAT HAS HAPPENED HERE!!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Been coming to this venue since it opened, through lots of changes in owners and management. My sister had her wedding reception here, and I have had a few family events here. Hadn't been in around four months. Visited yesterday and was so disappointed. Lunch Menu is so small now. Only a few choices. I am trying to eat healthily but found this very difficult. Ended up with burger, didn't eat the bun or chips, asked for no dressing on the salad, but sadly this request was ignored. No excuse as only a few people were in. Sorry but don't think I will be back. Very pricey and very limited lunch menu. Pre theatre menu is pricey too. Walk to merchant square, a mere 5 minutes stroll at most, and u will find better value, quality, and healthier options. Very let down. Such a shame.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    78
    40
    26
    40
See reviews for
38
118
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The baronial style building makes a stunning site as you pull up. Tiny Car Park (3 places) but on street metered parking available right outside. The bar, restaurant and rooms were a little tired. The bathroom had a tile hanging off the wall in the bath/shower and the light above the mirror didn't work. However the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The view towards the Cathedral and Necropolis is great. Food was OK without being anything special. Nothing to really put me off staying again but at £90 for a Double room it wouldn't be my first choice. Handy for the Cathedral but a little away from the centre and a choice of bars and restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

once again we decided to have new year at this hotel and we where not disappointed excellent
value the to course meal was top class the staff where great and service was of a high standard what was even better they did not try to make a quick buck well done hope to be back next year

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henkGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were here last night and I have to say the service was dire and the food (what little there was of it!) was really not very good. What has happend to this place, it used to be really very good but I must say, we won't be back after last night's tragedy of a dinner service!!! What a shame it has gone downhill so much because it used to be a really good place for a bite to eat and a natter with colleagues and friends but I do believe they will lose a lot of business from the hospital staff who are just along the road and also visitors to the Cathedral etc. Damn shame but nobody will pay good money for that kind of service and the miniscule portions (not well cooked!) that is served up here. One to avoid!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Porter313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I would also agree with Paisley-buddy1970 and Zandie73. Although the acting was the responsibility of the company who ran the murder mystery night (which was also terrible) the service lies with the Cathedral House Hotel. We attended this event in a group of 20, all with a GroupOn. We were seated on opposite sides of the room (as mentioned below in another review), drink service was intermittent - you wouldnt be asked for 45 minutes, and then you would be asked constantly for 15 minutes - and the food was terrible. The starter was the best (a very small amount of haggis balls), fish and chips or mac'n'cheese that both looked like it had come from a local chippy and got cold, and a tiny scoop of tesco value ice crea served in a soup ball. This was not neccessarily standard procedure at the Cathedral House Hotel, but possibly as a result of trying to fit too many people into a small room and not having enough staff to meet this requirement. Had I paid full proce for this event I would have asked for my money back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

100% agree with Paisley Buddy 1970s review. Food was practically non existent on the plate, we left hungrier than when we arrived. There were 16 of us booked for a Christmas night out and they had seated half of us on one side of the room and half at the other. Only because we protested so vocally did they change the layout so we could all sit together. We also had 3 people missing from our party and sadly their meals did not materialise, if they had we would have fought over them! Thanks go to the couple who won the shortbread and passed it round the starving masses. As for the pudding, I just want to know where my jelly was with that child sized portion of ice cream!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zandie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Attended death by chocolate last night with 6 friends for Xmas night out, OMG FOOD AND SERVICE A FARCE!!
Arrived at the bar for pre dinner drinks took 10 mins to pour 6 drinks and a tap water, then shown to the function room with 40 other guests, all seated, the table was wobbly and unsafe had to try sort it ourselves, took 40 mins for a drinks order to arrive as only 1 person on bar and 1 person to serve 46 folk 3 courses come on management that's a shocking staff to customer ratio, she had to take the orders (even though we pre ordered) then serve and clear everything on her own!!!!!!
Soup was bland, pate came with one yea one oatcake, when the main finally arrived the steak pie was the best choice as the turkey and ham was one minuscule slice with NO TRIMMINGS, even though it stated on the menu, and finally Chinese style 2 scoops of vanilla ice cream for dessert. Was suppose to be £42.50 pp but when booked was only £29.50 even at that very very poor. Get a grip guys people expect more than that and even though the service girls were stressed and harassed they were very pleasant.
Act itself was good and very entertaining that saved a very poor performance from the hotel side.
Will not return and await any feedback.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Paisley_buddy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Orchard Park Hotel
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
129 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
Merchant City
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#86 of 95 in Glasgow
447 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 95 in Glasgow
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Property: Cathedral House Hotel
Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral House Hotel is a 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, 8 individual and beautifully furnished rooms and a splendid restaurant, Whisky bar and Beer Garden. We are just 5 minutes from the vibrant and bustling Merchant City area of Glasgow,. Nestled within an historic quarter of the city, with excellent views of Glasgow Cathedral and the fascinating Necropolis, the hotel is an excellent base to explore the grounds and the Provands Lordship House, St Mungo's Museum and Glasgow in general - the city centre is 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing