We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
Ranked #79 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very friendly and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Five stars all round for this lovely hotel. Yes, there are little flaws in the decor, but I can live with that, like I can live with paying £60 for a last minute room, when there are hotels wanting £120. My needs are simple : hot water, within walking distance of town, a comfy bed, white sheets, internet access and quiet!. All this I got. The real bonus was the breakfast - oh the bacon was excellent. By the way, the bar food is equally delish - so nice not to have to trail back into town for dinner, when it is literally on your doorstep. Love the area of Glasgow where this hotel is situated, I couldn't have asked for better at the price. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukdianeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    77
    39
    24
    40
See reviews for
38
115
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Pleasant, welcoming hotel. Good bar food,wholesome breakfasts and very friendly staff and within easy walking distance of Glasgow city centre. Great views and would have no hesitation in returning here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
218 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Cosy bar with tasty, hot food next to Glasgow Cathedral and ideal for some time before and after the ghost walks! Highly recommend the baked Brie and chutney starter, although the broccoli soup was very nice too.

Staff are friendly and attentive.

Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennharrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked rooms at the Cathedral House Hotel in Glasgow hoping for some paranormal activity; however, we were pleasantly surprised in the end as it was a lovely hotel with really nice, clean rooms, and no ghostly encounters for myself, anyway. My daughter; however, did say her toothbrush jumped out of the holder and on to the floor, witness by her sister, but who knows, right? The restaurant/bar was great as well, friendly, accommodating staff, food was great, atmosphere was awesome. Our room overlooked the Metropolis, so that added to the gothicness of the atmosphere. Loved it, highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the Cathedral room, overlooks the Metropolis. large and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmoopy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Office night out at Cathedral House Hotel incorporating 3 course meal and drinks plus a murder mystery performance played out by Spirit of Glasgow surrounding the Madeleine Smith case from 150 years ago in Glasgow....excellent fun, excellent food, fabulous venue for such an occasion

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a lovely time we had staying at this quaint, lovely little place. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were delightful and comfortable and the view of the Cathedral from one of our rooms just added to the 'medieval atmosphere'. The food was great. I loved the porridge for breakfast. The full Scottish breakfast was delicious and hand made. The meals at the pub were great. Thank you Cathedral House and staff for making our stay in Glasgow a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleatus067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed her for 2 nights with a colleague as we were down to Glasgow for a work course. We each had a twin room. Arrived at 9pm to find the rooms unbearably hot so immediately opened the windows. This did not help as no air came in, the mattress on bed was also not comfortable which did not help. The walls in the hotel are paper thin so you can hear everything. My colleague was at the other side of the corridor from me but we could have a conversation whilest lying in our beds it was that bad. So needless to say we hardly slept a wink for the 2 nights.

The full English breakfast was lovely but on day 2 i decided to be good and opted for the porridge, what a terrible decision - the porridge smelt and tasted like cheese!!! I did not eat and just had a bowl of bran flakes and a banana instead (bran flakes were soft as were sitting out in an open bowl)

Evening meal at the hotel was Macaroni, chips and salad and was lovely. Waitress did not know how to smile, huffed at us when we asked for a few more minutes as we were not ready to order. She was also the waitress for the 2nd day breakfast and failed to serve us tea and toast which is meant to put out for all guests.

Overall terrible stay at this hotel, would not recommend for anyone who does not like heat and is a light sleeper (you will get no sleep). Only positive was the cleaner who was very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1985_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#86 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Property: Cathedral House Hotel
Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral House Hotel is a 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, 8 individual and beautifully furnished rooms and a splendid restaurant, Whisky bar and Beer Garden. We are just 5 minutes from the vibrant and bustling Merchant City area of Glasgow,. Nestled within an historic quarter of the city, with excellent views of Glasgow Cathedral and the fascinating Necropolis, the hotel is an excellent base to explore the grounds and the Provands Lordship House, St Mungo's Museum and Glasgow in general - the city centre is 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing