We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cadott, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great as expected”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We wanted a hotel in city center as we only had two days to see the city. Our check-in was smooth and friendly. The room was very comfortable with nice amenities and free wifi. The included breakfast was very good. Wait staff were very accommodating and even got us a book to review about the many pieces of art posted in the hotel. If we ever get back to Glasgow we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCandVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we really do appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    662
    146
    30
    14
See reviews for
312
1,113
80
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was a great place to stay if you want to explore the centre of Glasgow. And very close to the train station. Lovely decor, great high ceilings, very clean, great toiletries on offer and nice staff. The shower (and big overhead shower fixture) was amazing, nice fluffy housecoats - and extremely good price. I do a lot of business travel and am well versed with many hotel chains. This was one of the best experiences I've had to date. The only thing it was missing was a swimming pool. I did use the small cardio gym, but would have loved a pool. If you rely on Trip Advisor (like I do), then you need not go any further than here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonsey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments, we really do appreciate the feedback, it makes all the teams efforts worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
771 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Part of the InterContinental Hotel Group (along with Holiday Inn) this hotel is located in the centre of Glasgow in an area where there are many offices although it’s only a 5 minute walk to Central Station.

We stayed to attend a concert at the SECC - Clyde Auditorium which is a short taxi ride away or you can walk to the Central and catch a train along to the venue (get off/on at Exhibition Centre). Anderston station is closer to the hotel on the same line but I wouldn’t recommend the area at night.

The building is a historic one, built in 1892 by the Glasgow Corporation Electricity Department, it housed a power station for the city street lights. The top floor was added in 1931 and it remained in the hands of energy companies until refurbished and opened as a hotel in April 2011. The refurbishment was made at great expense and the hotel is a stylish looking place with character. As could be expected of a property from the Victorian era the entrance level reception has high ceilings, arched windows and attractive plasterwork which contrasts with the bold, colourful décor.

Reception staff were friendly although sometimes distracted - either by the phone or other colleagues which is a pet hate of mine since I believe the client in front of you should always have priority.

We had pre-booked direct with the hotel 3 months in advance of our stay on their “Indigo Infusion” package after I had checked out the place with a walk-in enquiry. The package consisted of a King Bed Executive room, evening meal (with complementary cocktail) and breakfast for two which at £120 we considered good value. The room (311) didn’t share the spacious aspects of the entrance level but we did get our choice of colour theme - blue. For the Indigo, “Executive” should read their “standard” room and is followed upwards in price by the “Superior” and “Deluxe”. Whether the size of room differs I don’t know but for your extra money you appear to get a larger screen wall-mounted television, a newspaper and differing complementary items in the fridge. Our 32” screen at the end of the bed was more than big enough thanks and we enjoyed the soft drinks and confectionary. This latter idea is very welcome when many hotels tend to overcharge for all the contents of their minibars. The ensuite had quality, stylish fixtures and fittings and a walk-in rainfall shower which was effective. Toiletries, hairdryer, robes, iPod docking station and coffee-making facilities are also provided. There is no storage in the desk or the bedside cabinets and the built-in wardrobe is small so travel light. We were not that keen on the feature wall - an enlarged photo of the building's exterior which may induce vertigo in some guests!

As we were attending the concert we dined early evening in the hotel’s Limelight Bar & Grill and were able to choose from the three-course “Market Menu” or alternatively allocate £24 per person towards the a la carte menu. The choices on the Market Menu suited us well, the service was again friendly, the food enjoyable and we accompanied it with a few large glasses of wine. Our timetable meant there was no time to enjoy the complementary cocktail however the staff arranged for us to have this when we returned after the concert. It transpires the “cocktail of the day” wasn’t really to our taste. The bar was quiet for a Thursday evening and although the staff were not pro-active in suggesting further drinks we ordered a couple of glasses of the South African Sauv Blanc wine we had tasted earlier (at £6.65 per 250ml glass). Sadly when we opted for another later we were advised that the bar had ran out of supplies and we ended up with the only alternative Sauv Blanc - a NZ Cloudy Bay at £11.75 per 250ml glass! We enjoyed it despite the cost, I having resisted the temptation to suggest to my wife one glass and two straws!

Refreshed after a good night’s rest, breakfast was also served in the Limelight Bar & Grill - help yourself to cereals and continental style fare or order the alternatives. We both ordered porridge and the full Scottish cooked breakfast. When I mentioned that I was disappointed only to have one potato scone - which is a seldom tasted favourite - the cheerful waitress returned a few minutes later with another for my plate! Everything was very tasty.

On request our luggage was stored behind reception and we collected it later when catching a train home.

Altogether an enjoyable experience in one of Glasgow’s nicer hotels which is now on our shortlist of places to stay in the city.

Room Tip: You have a choice of room colour preferences - blue, green or pink
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for the very detailed and kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and have found your comments very constructive and will certainly pick up on the details that you have pointed out, it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Indigo in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We took a day-time flight from the US to London and transferred from Heathrow to Glasgow, so we didn't arrive at the Hotel Indigo until after midnight. What a sight for sore eyes! It's so beautiful that I asked for the specs for some of the finishes, especially the shower tiles, and they handed me a sheet of every single fixture and finish at the hotel upon checkout!

As the previous writer said, it does have two comfortable beds, so it is good for traveling with kids, plus the rooms are quite large by European standards, as is the startlingly beautiful bathroom with a California shower with a rain forest shower head. The building formerly house Scotland's first electric company, so the building still had vestiges of a bygone era with a modern twist that was extremely pleasant to be around.

Breakfast was an adequate Scottish breakfast, although nothing extraordinary. The service was quick and very solicitous--our waiter couldn't do enough to make sure we had everything we needed and was most helpful even when we were being a bit picky. I love the dining room, though, with it's wonderful photographs of famous Scottish inventors, politicians and the like.

Each Hotel Indigo is supposedly unique, but in general, I find them all the same in terms of the wow factor. It's in a great location too, so save yourself the aggravation of finding the perfect hotel and book this one. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Hard to say--although a corner room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review, and for the competitive referral. Reviews like this give us a all a real shot in the arm. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Indigo
in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First, the positive: 1. It has rooms with 2 beds to accomodate kids (found that tough to find in Scotland). 2. It's gorgeous - very modern and clean.
Unfortunately, we weren't thrilled with the service. First, our room wasn't ready (even though we were there after check in). There was no apology for it and it was treated a little too nonchalantly, in my mind. The biggest issue, though, was that we could not get one single restaurant recommendation from the staff. We had children with us and they could not help us find one place to go (and we spoke with 2 separate people) that allowed kids (can be tough to find after a certain hour in Scotland). We did some google searching and asked for help making reservations which they were unable to do (they called, couldn't get us in and when we called ourselves we got in no problem). Walking 2 minutes down the street there was a wonderful restaurant that allowed kids (not even mentioned by the staff). When we returned from dinner I brought them a card from the restaurant that they could keep on file and the new person at the desk was shocked that we didn't get a recommendation because they have a big binder full of restaurants. We must have run into the 2 staff who need some additional training, unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelesteToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept our apologies for the manner in which you were dealt with regarding your enquiry for neighbourhood restaurants. We do indeed carry a 'bible' of local restaurants and our staff should be able to guide and assist and make the reservation for you. I have instructed our front office manager to carry out re-training with all the team in this regard. Your feedback is incvaluable to us and we do appreciate your time in posting your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

After reading previous reviews was expecting great things but came away a bit disappointed. Was warmly welcomed and room was clean and comfortable, if a tad on the small side. Nice range on hospitality tray but located in a corner beside wardrobe and quite difficult to manoeuvre around. Nice touch with the two cans of soft drink and two chocolate bars and water in fridge but as this would have cost a minimal amount can't say it was a major bonus! Wardrobe door didn't close properly so you had a shaft of light in room all night but this was not too bothersome but nonetheless a niggle all the same. Bathroom was lovely, great towels and toiletries but no good if you like a power shower as the shower was quite gentle. The main disappointment was the breakfast. The menu suggests making up your own muesli but on day one there was a few dried fruits to add and on day two there was actually no muesli at all. We were down early so maybe this changed later. The cooked breakfast was very disappointing, tasteless blackpudding, a rasher of bacon, folded over into a small square for some inexplicable reason and a fried egg that could have bounced off the plate. Ordered cooked breakfast the second day hoping it was a one off but no, came out just the same next day.

Overall the hotel is really clean and comfortable and handy for shops, pubs etc and we enjoyed our stay. My main reason for this mainly negative review was to make people aware that although hotel is lovely, it is not the be all and end all some previous reviews led us to believe and hopefully people will not feel a bit cheated as we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magoo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, but disappointed that we failed to meet your expectation. I take fully on board your points about the cooked breakfast and have passed these to our Kitchen team to deal with in terms of maintaining our consistency. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us in ensuring that we keep our service standards at their very high levels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The girls and i visited Hotel Indigo in June 2012 for a girlie afternoon tea which was just bliss. An individual cake stand with sandwiches, hot scone with cream, jam and bite size cakes and a pot of tea. To top it off....a glass of Moet. Truly stunning setting...gorgeous food and very pleasant staff. Due to return this weekend for a girlie lunch....so looking forward to it.(they even cater for dietry requirements!!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliMacKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tean in Limelight Bar and Grill and hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
717 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,131 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,667 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Property: Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing