We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1901 - CLOSED

1901
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Four of us had an excellent lunch, courtesy of Itison vouchers, in this very good bar/restaurant on the south side of the city. Not only was the food lovely but the service was first class. Staff were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Between us we tried pasta, pizza and burger meals and all were fresh and well presented. All of us agreed we would definitely return soon. Both food and wines very reasonably priced. Happy to recommend. Go and try it. A wee cracker!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clarion38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

What a surprise! The service was outstanding, the prices are very reasonable and the food was amazing. From the soup (potato and leek - loved it!) to the steak (was worried but it was as good as any steak I've had in Australia - beautiful!) to the lamb roast (my partner was thrilled with it), we could not fault anything. We will definitely return when we visit Glasgow again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndaw573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food & real Ale in here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Always great food in here and with usually a great selection of real ale, then its a good night out in here. Shame the resturant lacks atmosphere, due to lack of numbers. Shame, cos the food is fab.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryCampbell1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“As good if not better than city centre restraurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Went here on deal from 5pm. Was served by very friendly and smiley waitress. I had the home made pate and my wife hard the warm chorizo and black pudding salad to start, both were delicious. For mains my wife had 8oz rib eye and I had the salmon with mash and lemon caper butter. Both were cooked to perfection. I ate here over a year ago and was not impressed but new owners have got it spot on. needless to say we couldn`t manage the dessert on the deal. It is a modern Bistro with good menu at decent prices. We are already planning to go again to sample the full menu. It was just a shame it was so quiet for Sunday evening as it is far superior to more expensive and busy places in Shawlands and deserves a good return for their service and quality. Also of note only around £5.50 for a pint of tenants and a small wine.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just back from our first visit to the restaurant / bistro side of the pub and we were not disappointed. 5 of us went and had 5 starters, 5 mains and 1 dessert plus drinks. Large house wine was only £3.40 so not getting ripped off with drinks prices. King prawns in tempura batter starters and Chicken & chorizo skewers very tatsty. Mains were sea bass(2), steak, mixed grill and roast of the day. Portion size is good and we did not have one complaint. Service good, food well presented and served by smiley happy staff. Will definitely return. Bill for 5 of us inc drinks (7) was £102 and worth every penny. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dougie_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1901 also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing