We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Italian restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esca

Esca
Reserve with OpenTable
Esca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Myself husband and 4 yr old daughter popped in here for lunch. I used the itison voucher and swapped the wine choice for a soft drink. The food was lovely and service excellent. We had the pizza, risotto and the meatballs ( children's ) choices. There was no perceived negativity with using the voucher ( I have experienced this in other restaurants) all in all we really enjoyed lunch and will be back. Lovely little restaurant with good food and a nice comfortable atmosphere. We have been now a few times and would recommend it to others.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ja14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    190
    51
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We used an itison voucher to visit here - pizza and a large glass of wine. We bought a starter at an additional charge. I chose the calamari , which to be frank, was rubbery. My wife had the mozzarella balls which were tasteless. The pizza was good , but nothing you couldn't buy elsewhere. I've tasted better. The wine was good. The atmosphere was good, decor above average and can't complain about the service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Esca is one of my favourite restaurants in Glasgow. I have been coming here for many years and the experience is always pleasant. The food is good, the staff are friendly, and the set menu is good value.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Sort of ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a groupon voucher for four people starter and main with a glass of house wine or beer.
It was a Friday night so busy, busy. We were given "Groupon" menus. Reasonable choices.
Soup, bruschetta and mozzarella cheese in breadcrumbs was among the starters. Three of us chose the mozzarella and one the bruschetta. Certainly have tasted much better elsewhere as it looked as if it had been cooked from frozen as the plates had a small puddle underneath the breadcrumbs making it soggy. For mains one chose a pasta dish with prawns at a £2 supplement, two chose penne Alfredo nice but bland. The other person chose sphagetti with meatballs, certainly not presented very well, but tasted ok if but slightly over salted for her.
We had 4 glasses of White House wine and it was Luke warm, yugh. My husband accidentally knocked the glass with his hand and it spilt, the waitress cleared it up thankfully, but never asked if he wanted another glass or I'll get you another glass. It's the very first time that we have been charged for replacing the glass of wine. So points off.
Esca is nice clean, we have been before and had a much better experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very attentive, the service was great, the food was delicious, it was so good we went back a second time!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dragone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esca also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Esca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing