We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth going back”

The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip
Ranked #272 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $39
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Floating on the mezzanine overlooking the main restaurant at The Ubiquitous Chip, The Brasserie offers inventive and wholesome bistro-style dining with the same integrity and commitment to good quality food as the main dining area. Set over the top level of The Chip and offering everything from all day brunch at the weekend, quick midweek lunches and leisurely evening dinners, The Brasserie menu is as diverse as it's surroundings. Like the original restaurant opened back in the 1970s, The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip is on a mission to keep Scottish food and Scottish producers firmly on the culinary map. Using nasturtiums and tomatoes grown on our own mezzanine, Inverurie beef, Seil Island crab, Loch Melfort mussels and Ramsay's of Carluke's pork belly - we offer you the best of what Scotland has to offer in a magical space.
glasgow
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth going back”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good food and good service at reasonable prices
Never been disappointed with the varied menu particularly the vegetarian choice

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chloeglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    82
    32
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Scottish food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Love this place - great grub, fantastic choice & variety, wonderful atmosphere, lovely friendly staff - all in all i find it a brilliant place to bring customers & suppliers who are new to Glasgow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkpaul-gmail-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect steak”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I eat in The Chip regularly, both in the main restaurant and The Brasserie. I prefer to eat in The Brasserie, opting to sit on the balcony looking over the courtyard of the main restaurant as the atmosphere in the evening is wonderful. I mainly go for seafood dishes like the hake when I fancy something light or the steak when I'm really hungry. In my opinion their steaks are cooked to perfection, I really can't rate it highly enough, it's quite simply, delicious. The staff are great too; friendly without being overly familiar and knowledgeable about what they are serving. If you're planning to try The Chip for the first time and have doubts about splurging in the main restaurant, I would recommend trying The Brasserie. The food is on par with the main restaurant and in some cases even better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HiThenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A favourite of ours”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As West enders we come here a lot often without booking when we are happy to have a few drinks in the bar next door which is also our regular haunt. The food is generally good and the service excellent. The food is modern Scottish using mussels, fish beef and lamb with a modern take. The mussels steamed in their own Chip 71 beer are one of our favourites. There are usually extra cost specials like steaks . Try to get a table on the mezzanine which is bookable in advance, as it overlooks the fine dining restaurant below, one of Scotland's best on its own. Now under the ownership of the late founder's son, many of the Chip's hit and miss inconsistencies are being ironed out. The main wine list is to die for if you are a wine buff and Willy Robertson is one of the best sommeliers in the business. There are also good value wine of the month bar wines which they are happy to serve in the restaurant as well and there's usually a bar menu in the early evening

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant - the best place to eat in Glasgow”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Excellent food for everyone, but it is especially inventive with vegetarian options.

Everything I've had here has been exceptional.

The staff are really nice too, friendly but not cloying.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotripwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing