We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap(ish) and Cheerful”

YO! Sushi - House of Fraser Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $52
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap(ish) and Cheerful”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our meal here was ok and the staff were friendly but it's not the sushi destination it purports to be. The vegetable dishes shone but real sushi was pretty thin on the ground and the dishes with the best claim were made with really flabby salmon, the product I suspect of cage-dwelling, under exercised fish. Other pieces were made with cooked prawn and crab sticks... Cleanliness not a high point (a bit concerning in a place with some raw food dishes) with greasy menus and dirty serviettes in the holder. Picking your dishes off the passing conveyor belt is fun but beware, the cost can soon add up, and the drinks are extortionate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Polkadotdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    63
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Prospect, IL
Level Contributor
160 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good Value especially on Monday nights!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It is a fun place to eat combining a western (and sound track) setting with fusion cuisine. It attracts a younger crowd.
It offers dim sum sized plates in addition to sushi. The preparation is good. However we found the gyozas to be a little too crisp.
They have a special on Monday nights where all plates are 2.4 GBP.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FSYMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun Lunch”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Took my daughter for a quick spot of lunch that was different from the norm. I had Miso Broth which was light and sweet made with tofu, soy beans and seaweed which was delicious and she had Mika? Rice wrapped in seaweed with raw tuna, salmon and prawns which again was delicious. The staff were helpful the place was clean and something for everyone on the menu. Would go back again for a quick bite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile


Great place to eat if your in town for shopping with your friends and family. Good food and value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Senan953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not bad for a chain”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

not bad but perhaps this branch is not my favorite.
Staff are friendly and polite but if you order something it might take some time but not that long however I was on a short lunch brake. I love yo roll but this time unfortunately the salmon was not as fresh as it could be and had more fat stuff.
Also it is pricey for what it is .......

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank softsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YO! Sushi - House of Fraser Glasgow also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing