We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night at "England House"”

Committee Room No 9
Ranked #176 of 2,592 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Committee Room 9 is a hidden treasure in the Merchant City which offers a warm welcome and great value. From quick lunches to after work drinks and big celebrations, to student societies and sports events stoked with atmosphere, we're a hub of buzz and activity. Family friendly until 9pm, Committee Room No.9 serves up a hearty food menu with a great range of draught beers complimenting live sport on our many big screens and live music on the bar stage, to create a local feel in the heart of the city. To help you get into the weekend spirit, we you'll find live acoustic tunes every Thursday from 8pm plus DJs spinning feel-good tracks every Friday and Saturday from 8pm to 1am.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Popped into Committee Room to soak up some Commonwealth Games atmosphere and dinner. Even though the place was absolutely packed the table service was speedy and the staff were friendly and attentive. We had tasty pub food of macaroni cheese / baked potato and enjoyed watching the sport as well as spotting Team England representatives.

Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Committee Room No 9, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Good afternoon wfr_ljd!

As you mention in your review, we were extremely busy over the Commonwealth Games period as 'England House'. It's great to hear that even though we were so busy we still managed to provide the excellent and friendly service we aim for everyday.
I really appreciate you visiting Committee Rooms, and thanks for attaching your great photo of the pub as England House!
Hope you will visit again soon,
Regards,
Committee Room 9

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 326 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

Four stars for service and two for food and that might be generous for the food , chicken fajitas.. Bland ,no spice or taste, also counted only 3 small strips of chicken and at first thought then had brought the vegetarian option.....avoid if hungry..gives pub grub a bad name.On the plus side good place if you only want a drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Committee Room No 9, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Good afternoon Robert G,

Thanks for your feedback on our TripAdvisor page.

I'm glad to read you enjoyed our service on your recent visit. However, it's disappointing to hear that you didn't enjoy our Chicken Fajitas. Our Fajitas are one of the most popular meals on our menu and usually the feedback on them is fantastic. I'm sorry that on this occasion we didn't hit the mark. If you had alerted the small portion of chicken to one of the server's we would have happily replaced the dish. However, even with this I have spoken to the kitchen team who have assured me that this was a rare mistake which won't occur again.
We hope you will pop in again so you can experience the great service and food that I know we can provide.

Regards,
Committee Room 9

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Popped into this friendly place on a Wednesday night-got seen to straight away and a drink order was also taken very quickly.
Great music being played and a fab big screen to watch the games on!
I would also like to add our sever Steven was the highlight!
Helpful,very friendly and attentive! 5stars for him too :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pezrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Committee Room No 9, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Hello Perzule,

Thanks for leaving feedback on your recent trip to Committee Rooms! It's great to hear you had such a great time watching the sport and enjoying the friendly service from Steven. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him. I hope you come back and visit soon.

Kind regards,
Committee Room 9

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The venue has been rebranded 'England House' for the Commonwealth Games but to my delight it is still the same great service from the same friendly and efficient staff.

Thank allan-g31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Committee Room No 9, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Good afternoon Allan G!

Thanks for taking your time to leave some feedback on TripAdvisor. As you have indeed spotted over the Commonwealth we are 'England House' - the official home of England fans during the Commonwealth Games. Although this is a new change over the 12 days of the Commonwealth Games we are still serving the same food, same great drinks and same friendly staff. I'm glad your recent visit proved this true. We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Committee Room 9

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Serena and her team provided excellent service and were very attentive to our needs on the night. It was a great venue for an event and would thoroughly recommend it. Great night and all worked out perfectly. Thanks so much from a very satisfied customer Liz Delaney

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LizDelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Committee Room No 9, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Good afternoon Liz,

It was an absolute pleasure to have you in our function room for your fundraising night. Thank you for the kind words about your visit and I'll pass on your feedback to Serena and all the staff. We all wish you the best on your trip to Mt Kilamanjaro!

Kind regards,
Committee Room 9

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Committee Room No 9 also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Committee Room No 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing