We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Opium

Opium
Ranked #30 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opium specialises in oriental fusion cuisine, offering a mix of traditional Dim Sum and fusion dishes. We're open everyday and look forward to welcoming you here at 191 Hope Street. Located in the heart of Glasgow city centre, Opium is great for a working lunch or to catch up with friends. As night falls our interior transforms, it's perfect for an intimate dinner or a celebration with family and friends.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very pleasant lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We sought out this restaurant because they don't use MSG. Very glad we did because the food was excellent. We tried four dishes of dim sum and some noodles. We don't have large appetites and this suited us perfectly. The waitress was very friendly and helpful, and the decor was understated modern- very pleasing. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMairead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    218
    51
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have been regular visitors here for the past couple of years , and will keep going back because we love the food. Recently we visited a Michelin starred Chinese restaurant in London and in our opinion, Opium's dim sum is superior. The proprietor and his staff are friendly and very attentive and it is a joy to dine there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dylanfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

had a nice meal,, good evening,, few drinks, will be back friendly staff and there great with kids....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank abbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

After reading all the reviews about this restaurant, we were really looking forward to a memorable dining experience. Unfortunately, we were left disappointed. We went on Tuesday evening and there were two other couples dining. The small card pre-theatre menu was torn and almost falling in half - not a good first impression. Although the waiting staff were polite and appeared friendly, the service felt rushed - twice the waitress came to take my husbands plate away when he set his cutlery down mid-meal to take a drink.. We have had average, good and excellent chinese food and we would have to describe this as average. I had the duck spring rolls for starter, which were nice, however, the beef flank curry for the main dish tasted similar to a beef stew with some five spice added. We so wanted this restaurant to be special, but it just did not meet our expectations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Superb Dim Sum, Outstanding value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

After spending a couple of weeks recently in China and eating more Dim Sum that should be possible, the bug had bitten and it was time to find somewhere in Glasgow that did good Dim Sum. After a bit of Googling Opium on Hope Street seemed to have a strong case as being decent so we popped in on a very wet and horrible Sunday night.

Its not the biggest of restaurants but is warm, modern and the staff are a model of attention and efficiency. We decided we would order a bottle of wine and then pick about 4 Dim Sum dishes and see how we got on.

I’m glad to say the Dim Sum was excellent and to be honest was just about as good as anything we sampled in China though direct comparison was hard as fillings were slightly different. It was so good we ordered another round of Dim Sum and attempted to choose different ones with the exception of the Shanghai Siew Lung Bun which was so good we got it again.

Im not usually a fan of taking pictures of the bill but in Opium I had to. We ate a scandalous amount of excellent, fresh and delicious Dim Sum along with a bottle of wine and it came out at £65. Exceptional value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opium also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Opium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing