We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opium Restaurant, Glasgow”
Review of Opium

Opium
Ranked #33 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opium specialises in oriental fusion cuisine, offering a mix of traditional Dim Sum and fusion dishes. We're open everyday and look forward to welcoming you here at 191 Hope Street. Located in the heart of Glasgow city centre, Opium is great for a working lunch or to catch up with friends. As night falls our interior transforms, it's perfect for an intimate dinner or a celebration with family and friends.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Opium Restaurant, Glasgow”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Absolutely brilliant restaurant. Excellent service, staff very friendly, great atmosphere due to a really well-designed interior and most importantly the food was incredible. Clearly a lot of planning went in to the menu to give it an authentic Asian feel and the cocktail menu was great as well. I have to strongly recommend trying the Dynasty. Overall, a great restaurant and a great experience, definitely going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    231
    51
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food I had in Glasgow”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice ambience. Good service topped with tasty Asian food. Location is very central and easy to reach

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another fabulous meal”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Another excellent meal in Opium. Great service and delicious food always make for a good evening. From the delicious dumplings to the fabulously scented rice, we enjoyed every part of our meal. The service was fast and unobtrusive, and the staff were all very friendly. They were more than happy to order a taxi for us and let us know when it arrived so we didnt have to stand out in the rain. We shared two starters and then shared one main with a rice each, everything is so delicious but the portions are quite large so this is our compromise to get to sample as much we can.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was in Glasgow on business and had planned to eat elsewhere having looked up Trip Advisor reviews. On the way I found this place and was impressed by what I saw being served up so gave it a go. What a wonderful place, the staff are great, they mixed a great Martini and that was followed by very well prepared and presented food. I loved it, good value. My only regret is that I ate alone, every dish I saw looked great so if you go as a group you get the chance to taste several. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_B186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Monday at 5pm”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Went with the wife for a quick meal 5pm on a Monday so as you'd imagine it was rather quiet. None the less food was good! I had Tiger Pao King Prawn which was mad wi chilli's (be warned) starters were ribs & spring rolls which were nice but tbh overall there wasn't enough on the plate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P2Mendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opium also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Opium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing