We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dim Sim Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opium

Opium
Ranked #26 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opium specialises in oriental fusion cuisine, offering a mix of traditional Dim Sum and fusion dishes. We're open everyday and look forward to welcoming you here at 191 Hope Street. Located in the heart of Glasgow city centre, Opium is great for a working lunch or to catch up with friends. As night falls our interior transforms, it's perfect for an intimate dinner or a celebration with family and friends.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dim Sim Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Best Dim Sim I have had in a long time, fantastic service and great price, the manager was friendly and helpful when advising on what was available. A real find and a must on your to do list when in Glasgow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    213
    50
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Lovely lunch. The staff is really friendly, they teached my girlfriend how to use the chopsticks!
When we asked for red curry sauce (which wasn't on the menu) this was no problem. Food is good. Good value for money! Worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

No other Chinese fusion restaurant in Scotland beats this one. The service is great and all customers' dietary needs are catered for. Vegetarians are well-looked after so this is a good place for vegetarians.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mawuli1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Popped in here in December for a quick lunch. Food was tasty, presented well with generous portions. Overall, very good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Understated fresh welcoming value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to try here for a while, our first visit and definitely not our last did not disappoint, nice attentive staff efficient and subtle, quality food and nice options for£9.50 business lunch we could not find fault! Keep it up, we'll be back for the alacarte
Regards
Friends wot Lunch

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrymclean1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opium also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Opium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing