We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal, just a bit overpriced”
Review of Opium

Opium
Ranked #37 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opium specialises in oriental fusion cuisine, offering a mix of traditional Dim Sum and fusion dishes. We're open everyday and look forward to welcoming you here at 191 Hope Street. Located in the heart of Glasgow city centre, Opium is great for a working lunch or to catch up with friends. As night falls our interior transforms, it's perfect for an intimate dinner or a celebration with family and friends.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice meal, just a bit overpriced”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We went to Opium for a family meal and I liked this place very much. I enjoyed all of my food but was left feeling that it was a nice meal but maybe a bit expensive for what it is. My main course was £15 or so and did not include rice or noodles. So for a main with rice you are about £18 and I feel £14 is maybe a bit more appropriate. The food was nice but not michelin star.
Saying that I would go back for pre-theatre or lunch menu.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    841
    237
    57
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Went on a wet Wednesday, so no problem getting a table. Not suprisingly quiet, about 8 other people there, so not much atmosphere but probably better with more people.

Started with the Har Gau quite nice if a little bland better with soy sauce. For the main Sweet & Sour Chicken with pomeganate and Jasimin rice. Chicken was good, the covering was very light and crispy, not at all heavy like some. Not sure the pomegranate added very much. Sauce was nice though. Rice well cooked.

Was given some crackers and chilli dipping sauce with my Tiger beer.

Service was attentive and friendly.

Overall a good meal cost about £23.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bancroftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place for ladies who lunch!”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Had the delicious two course lunch menu to-day with a group of ladies and we all said we would return! The staff were very attentive and competent, food was so well presented and delicious. Chopsticks are on the table but ordinary cutlery is available. I would personally recommend the spare ribs and Nasi Goreng. good choice of wines as well!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Fantastic”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I were walking past and thought the place looked warm and inviting, which it certainly was. Coupled with an authentic delicious menu, this is the place to go to folks. Staff were friendly and the ambience delightful. We had Hot & Sour soup, chilli salt squid and Chicken shu mai. This was so tasty my mouth is watering again! This was followed by Chicken Kung Po and Thai Chilli beef, fabulous deserts and a great wine list. If you haven't been, get yourselves along there now.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
“Excellent Choice and Value”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stopped here last week for a quick pre-theatre (£14.80 for 2 courses) and managed to get a nice table by the window. The staff were very friendly and warm even though we hadn't booked a table beforehand.

For starters we ordered the Honey Glazed Ribs (excellent) and the Satay Wonton (Very nice) and they arrived quite quickly after ordering. For main course we had Chicken Curry with Steamed Rice and Spicy Sichuan Chicken with noodles. Again we didn't have to wait long for the food to arrive even though the place was almost full. The service was efficient but not to the point where we felt rushed. The main courses were decent sized portions and the food tasted really fresh.

To accompany the meal we had a bottle of Pinot Grigio Rose which was very nice.

Total bill came to just under £45 which is good considering it was City Centre and included wine.

Well worth a try and we will be back to try the full menu next time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PizzaCat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opium also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Opium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing