We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Source

Cafe Source
Ranked #137 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Source is located beneath the magnificently restored 18th Century St. Andrew’s Church in the Merchant City, Cafe Source offers a relaxed and informal dining experience for those wanting to sample some gutsy “real” Scottish fare. Traditional favourites such as Haggis, Stovies and the ever popular Cullen Skink figure on the menu, however you will also find a wide range of contemporary dishes. Pre-Theatre and Dinner Menus are also available offering excellent value for money. Specials change on a daily basis and with an extensive choice of Malt Whisky, fine wines, Scottish beers and lagers you will surely find Café Source a truly relaxing place to enjoy a taste of Scotland. 10 Mins from Central Station. 2 Mins from Glasgow Cross/Glasgow Green.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Cafe Source is somewhere I had never heard of, but by doing a little research online I found some good reviews and thought I'd try it. We had a lovely meal for £22.50 per head which included three courses each and a bottle of wine to share. The pate starter was delicious and then the chicken wrapped in bacon with a haggis mash was very tasty too. I finished with the fudge cheesecake which was out of this world! A must visit place if you are looking for a reasonable but quality meal in the heart of Glasgow!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    133
    24
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

After being let down by a restaurant with 3 hours to meeting friends for a meal......we started calling round and Cafe Source came up trumps and could accommodate our party of 7 on a Bank Holiday weekend. On arrival, the restaurant was well laid out, very chilled and the staff were really friendly. They offered to set up a tab for drinks and showed us to our table. Menu had lots of choice and specials were shown on a chalkboard which was wrapped round the pillars. Our party all ordered different starters, mains and desserts but we swapped around as we were eager to try everyone else's dishes as it all looked so good. Food was hot, well seasoned and very delicious. Booze flowed all night and staff were very attentive. Bill was very reasonable at £50 a head but that was for 3 courses and copius amounts of booze. So glad we were let down as we had an amazing night at this venue and would definitely recommend!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cafe Source has been around for 12 years, how come it took me so long to find it?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere, just can't believe it took me so long to find this great venue. We went on a Friday night which also happened to be big band night, so getting a table was difficult, unfortunately we left before the band started. Food, service, atmosphere were all great. we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank issy_grieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larkhall
Level Contributor
219 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Hidden away gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My brother & sister in law invited my wife and I to celebrate there wedding anniversary.Got off at Argyll street station and walker for about 10 minutes to this restaurant.Have to admit we haven't been to this area of Glasgow before but found it easy enough and was pleasantly surprised when we were led to our lovely alcove.The decor was very nice and plenty of drink choices.We opted to have something from the specials menu and have to say the meal with bottle of wine was very good value.The Cullen skink was absolutely superb and all our mains were really nice although certain mains have a surcharge,we finished with cheese and biscuits and they were excellent as well.Would definitely go back here again and had no complaints whatsoever.Staff were also excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manonspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Grea Food....every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This restaurant never disappoints. Really good value on the £22.50 three course including bottle of wine per couple.
Very high quality food and fantastic staff......would highly recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eastern59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Source also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing