We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled Guest”
Review of Cafe Source

Cafe Source
Ranked #162 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cafe Source is located beneath the magnificently restored 18th Century St. Andrew’s Church in the Merchant City, Cafe Source offers a relaxed and informal dining experience for those wanting to sample some gutsy “real” Scottish fare. Traditional favourites such as Haggis, Stovies and the ever popular Cullen Skink figure on the menu, however you will also find a wide range of contemporary dishes. Pre-Theatre and Dinner Menus are also available offering excellent value for money. Specials change on a daily basis and with an extensive choice of Malt Whisky, fine wines, Scottish beers and lagers you will surely find Café Source a truly relaxing place to enjoy a taste of Scotland. 10 Mins from Central Station. 2 Mins from Glasgow Cross/Glasgow Green.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disabled Guest”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went to Cafe Source last night with my disabled partner, brother and his wife for the set 3 coarse dinner plus wine offer. The food was fantastic and plenty of it. Waiting staff did a great job.Restaurant has a nice feel about it and tables are not too close together, plenty space for wheelchair users. Good access down into restaurant ....there is a long ramp. This is our 4th visit here and yes we will be back....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank angie752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    137
    26
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Scottish Grub!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A great find! We were a party of 5 and had a young teenager with us, we all loved the food including a very picky and fussy plain eater. My husband and brother had the scallop risotto and said it was the best they had ever tasted. The mussel starters was really good too. There were no complaints at all from our table to be honest. The place was very busy indeed but the service still managed to be efficient and reasonably quick. Good locally sourced produce, plain and fancy, whatever you choose. We will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fingertipsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Interesting menu & good service. Went with friends and had a lovely time. There was plenty of buzz in the restaurant too.

Helpful?
Thank shem_the_ween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Informal dining first class food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Looking for a mid-week pre theatre at short notice, my youngest son recommended Cafe Source as he had eaten there the week before, booked on the Internet and duly arrived in St Andrews Square with the good wife, easy to find as long as you are aware it is under the St Andrews on the Square, down the small set of stairs (wheelchair access available). First impressions low ceilings , nice bar and booths with substantial seating area for twos and fours, We chose the pre theatre meal, I started with the Haggis Pakora with spiced onions and dip, excellent choice extremely tasty and good sized portion. My wife chose the soup of the day which was a chicken broth , tasty but not as hot as it should have been, waitress informed to make the chef aware, Main course for me was the Trio of Ramsays Carluke Pork on a bed of Rumbledthumps and roast vegetables, this was absolutely delicious , The Rib Eye steak was my partners choice (at a £6.00 supplement) she said it was tasty and well complemented by the onion rings and chips.Sweet for me was a no brainer , sticky toffee pudding, I though the sauce a bit thin but it more than made up for that with a tremendous flavour, The other sweet was the glazed lemon tart with a raspberry coulis which tasted as good as it looked. These gartronomic delights were washed down with a bottle of Concha y Toro a Chilean Merlot which lived up to its write up of gentle fruitfullness.I found the waitress cheery and knowledgeable and always at hand if required, whilst paying the bill the owner was informative , chatty and ensured by his welcome that we will return to work our way through the a la carte menu next time. Three course Pre-theatre was £22.00 a head and that included the bottle of house red, (£6.00 supplement for the Rib Eye Steak)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmythewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

As a frequent lunch diner in Glasgow I'm always on the lookout for a change. Found this one on TA. It's a wee bit beyond the usual restaurant area for me, in the gallery area of Glasgow city centre. But we'll worth the visit. Food was imaginative, fresh, hot, tasty and relatively inexpensive. A relaxed atmosphere. Mix of clientele on Saturday lunch including kids. Staff were great. Will definitely be back. A walk through some of the gallery shops was a treat too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie6474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Source also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing