We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class dining experience”
Review of Cafe Source

Cafe Source
Ranked #138 of 2,408 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Source is located beneath the magnificently restored 18th Century St. Andrew’s Church in the Merchant City, Cafe Source offers a relaxed and informal dining experience for those wanting to sample some gutsy “real” Scottish fare. Traditional favourites such as Haggis, Stovies and the ever popular Cullen Skink figure on the menu, however you will also find a wide range of contemporary dishes. Pre-Theatre and Dinner Menus are also available offering excellent value for money. Specials change on a daily basis and with an extensive choice of Malt Whisky, fine wines, Scottish beers and lagers you will surely find Café Source a truly relaxing place to enjoy a taste of Scotland. 10 Mins from Central Station. 2 Mins from Glasgow Cross/Glasgow Green.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First class dining experience”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Went out for a quiet meal with my wife. We had been to Cafe Source before and were well impressed, this time was no different. The food is simply delicious and the portions huge. Nothing is too much bother for the staff and our whole meal with wine and liquers was less than £60.

Excellent

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhonhaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    134
    25
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We have eaten regularly at Cafe Source and we are always impressed with the freshness and quality of the food. The menu is always a little different from the usual and it is so much more than a cafe. A beautiful building too.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Scottish fare with vegetarian options”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Our friends took us here our first night visiting them in Glasgow. We loved the atmosphere- dim lights, contemporary decor, warm and comfortable overall. It was a great place to get vegetarian options of many traditional Scottish dishes like Scotch pie, haggis, etc. The staff was friendly and attentive. And, of course, the food was delicious!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DARK622007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever!!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Arrived at this restaurant to be met by really nice staff and the atmosphere was great. Food was out of this world and the Big Band live music was a bonus!! £22.50 a head with a free bottle of wine was good value for money! This has to be the best restaurant I have ever been to! Keep up the good work folks.I dont live in Glasgow but will be bragging this place up to others!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing value & quality!”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My daughter & I visited Glasgow & researched several restaurants online particularly for one of the "theatre dinner" bookings which we expected would be up to 7pm.
We found Cafe Source doing a "celebration" dinner at 22.50each for 3 courses WITH a bottle of house wine AND it went on all evening (it was a Fri night)
Absolutely wonderful food, couldn't fault it & the host, presumably the owner couldn't have been more helpful & friendly. Not quite central, it's in the merchant quarter but a taxi back to Grand Central was £4, well worth the short journey

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Source also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing