We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay in a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a two night stay here using the tesco rewards. Very quick check in, staff were vry helpful and cheery. Room was nice and clean, a bit tired in areas, but overall very good. Bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet at night. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice. A very good break and would stay in the Novotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipsoss66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your review based on your recent stay at the hotel.

I am pelased to read that you had a positive experience for which we look forward to seeing you back at a Novotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Comfortable and Clean
We were part of a group visiting Scotland and this was the first hotel we stayed in on 28 Sept. It was clean and comfy, though not very remarkable. The ambience was really nice and it was situated very centrally in the City Centre - was very good to get about and reachable back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star_Lord2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay with us.

We do hope to see you back at Novotel on your next visit to the city.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

2nd stay at this hotel in 4 months as we like the hotel, location and overall feel of the hotel. Receptionist very friendly & helpful at check in. Got a great deal on Itison but Room 303 was poor compared to our last room. Don't think this room has been refurbished but didn't think it was appropriate to complain since we did not pay full rate for it. There were paint splashes on the fittings, the sofa bed had white stains on it and carpet was also stained. This room had different furniture compared to our previous room - white formica looking units which looked cheap. I think you would be disappointed if you were looking for a 4 star experience. Breakfast was great again and we would stay again but the price has to be right.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that you had a positive experience but have noted your comments regarding the room that you were staying in.
We do have 3 types of rooms, for which the room you stayed in is a standard double. Your previous room was either a superior or executive room which do come with a slightly increased price.

We wim to make more of the hotel of these room types over the coming period.

I do hope that we see you abck with us at some point in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel Glasgow Centre in August 2013. Hotel was well-located, just off the M8, and just a short walk away from the railway station and the main shopping streets of Glasgow. Rooms were comfortable and well-equipped for the price. We did not try out the restaurant for dinner, but breakfast was excellent as is usual with Novotel. My only criticism was the underground hotel parking was extremely limited with physically very tight spaces, for a price of £8/exit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for writing a short review based on your recent stay with us in Glasgow.
I am pleased to read that you had a positive experiance, for which we do hope to see you abck with us on your next visit to the city.
Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent location for the Kings Theatre and the SECC and new Hydro with Glasgow city centre also a short walk away. Staff were nice and friendly and check-in and out was done quickly. The room was clean and spacious with everything working and the in room wifi worked a treat. Good choice at breakfast and again the waiting staff were happy to help if you had a question. The only downside was that area is has busy weekend nightlife and we stayed on a Friday night, our room it may have just been the window (which was supposed to be double glazed) just did not dampen any of the external noise at all. I would expect to get some noise through when closing the window but we seemed to get everything coming through, so it was in early or late hours of the morning before we dropped of to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank aberfeldy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for writing a review based on your stay with us at Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am pelased to read your positive comments regarding the hotel itself but am siapointed that you were kept awake by external noise, for which we will look into additional glazing in order to block this out further.
We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you can get a cheap deal then this place would be ok just for somewhere to sleep, but if you're paying to be here you'll be disappointed. the room I was in was run down and tired, and stonkingly hot. My personal bugbear - the dried prunes at breakfast had stones in them. Now that's a sure sign of cost cutting. Grrrr.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trilli0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Glasgow.
I am sorry to read however that we did not meet your expectations, for which please accept my apologies.
We will work with your comments in order to review our standards for the future.
Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. As others have remarked, the hotel isn't located in a quiet area but I wasn't expecting that - its billed as a city centre hotel!

Check in was pretty shamblic and the French clerk the most unwelcoming and brusque hotel employee I've met in a very long time. However, everyone else on reception was charming. My room was an executive room and okay. It was a standard Novotel room and clean but in need of a makeover.

I had lunch and dinner at the bar / restaurant. The staff are lovely but the ambience lacking. It's a cold, inviting room and the food is very ordinary. I don't recommend it.

The 'Inbalance' gym is a dreadful disappointment. It's basically a room with a good view with a few pieces of cardio equipment but its not a fitness suite or gym. There are no resistence machines and no free weights. I did an hour's cardio and lost count of the number of people who arrived, looked around for the equipment and left! Novotel really shouldn't advertise that they have this facility. I booked on the basis that I wanted a gym which wasn't there.

I slept okay but the walls are quite thin.

Breakfast was pretty good.

I would struggle to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us in Glasgow.
I am sorry to read however that your experience was not as positive as you would have expected - please accept my apologies.
We are due for a complete change of gym equipment at the start of the year, during which we will be adding weight machines - thank you for pointing this out.
I do hope that we get the chance to see you back with us at some point on a future stay.
Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,690 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,019 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $65 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing