We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A one night stay in Glasgow at the end of March to catch up with family and friends.

I booked and pre-paid for an Executive Room, which came with additional facilities; free broadband, movies, dressing gowns and free water, as well as a bigger room, with a sofa and situated on a higher floor.

The receptionist was welcoming, professional and friendly and dealt with my bad mood (no fault of hers) superbly...the barman, receptionist the next day were the same; as an exiled Glaswegian I often tell people what a friendly place Glasgow is, it is and the Novotel reflects this.

In terms of value, what i got was well worth the money. The room was fine and well appointed, the bathroom (loo in separate room) was good and the shower excellent.

Overall with the additional services the Executive Room offers made it both a very good choice and very good value indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to review your recent stay with us at Novotel Glasgow Centre.

I am delighted to read both that your stay was an enjoyable one and also that the team members you encountered served you so well.

We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasgow soon.

Kindest regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    666
    360
    80
    34
See reviews for
302
567
98
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Novotel Glasgow has an excellent location - so central to the center of Glasgow and to nice bars on Bath Street! Unsure whether I would give it the 4 star rating it holds - a small, simple room which I would associate more with 3 stars. However the room was very clean and quiet and the bathroom was lovely. We didn't use the restaurant - there are so many places nearby! Plan a little time in for checking in - only 1 member of staff was available to book in a queue of Friday arrivals. Checking out was fast and easy. All staff were polite, knowledgeable and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that your stay was a comfortable one but have noted your comment regarding queing to check-in, which I will ensure is better managed in the future.

I hope to see you back at the hotel at some point soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

smooth and efficient check in and out, friendly but without the pointless pleasantaries some chains insist their staff attempt to inflict upon you. very impressed.
room - spacious, comfortable, clean, the bed and pillows here are amongst the most comfortable i have ever had in hotel, excellent.
location - very handy for city centre.
bar - service good, prices typical of hotel of this type.
didnt eat here so cant comment on that side of things.
the down side - this sadly is beyond the hotels control, the police need to step up and sort this problem; the idiotic boy racers that going round and round until 3 am ! surely this police most be aware of this.
overall - i liked it, if the police could sort boy racers I would like to go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jco01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am sorry to read however that your stay was interupted by street noise. I am confident that this occasional problem will be non existent in the near future.

We do hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Staff fantastic so helpful and friendly, good situation close to shops and theatre, only drawback was they don't do twin rooms rooms same as double but you have to put down sofa for other bed which means little room for moving about ok for one night but wouldn't want to stay any longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments based on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read such positive words regarding our staff which I will of course pass onto the team.

We do look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberfeldy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

arrived late (9pm) getting a meal was not a problem, but service was a wee bit slow, no worries, not going any where till morning, room was clean, comfy bed, had a really sound sleep, breakfast was very good, good selection, and it was not cold like some buffet breakfasts can be !,attended a meeting at hotel next day, they put on a very good lunch, ( 3 course ) check out was very good bags held in the luggage room all day, staff were very helpful at all times.

Room Tip: think all rooms are good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review following a recent stay with us at Novotel Glasgow Centre.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Close to Kings Theatre (really close) , close to west end of Sauchiehall Street and a young/diverse pub/club scene and close to an amazing rustic and cheap Restaurant called Antipasta. Hotel was budget but better. If rooms , great for kids as they were free and had sofa bed in the room. So yeah pretty good and worth an extra £10-20 instead of booking a travelodge!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithaChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable experiance and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The receptionist was fantastic, very helpful and lots of information. Clean, modern and a great location for the city centre. Parking was ok although the hotel car park was full there was an alternative close by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Spikeyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Novotel Glasgow Centre.

I am delighted to read that you had a good stay & do look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 95 in Glasgow
2,045 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,361 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Property: Novotel Glasgow Centre
Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing